My first #ulog post: the sunny side of makurdi

It’s a few minutes past 2pm. I slip under a shade of trees as i try to escape the scourge of makurdi sun. It has been extremely hot lately. Rumors have it that a certain man selling his wares mysteriously went ablaze under the sun.

On a football pitch to your left, a group of boys are playing ball under the sun. I wonder where they get their energy from. they remind me of an article i read on the internet about the 2022 world cup proposed for Qatar. It is said that athletes would be playing under extreme weather conditions of 50 degrees. I forget about the players and turn my attention to a girl buying ice cream from a vendor. She is tall and skinny and wears her afro in a wild yet sexy way.

There are a lot of explanations for the heat that don’t have to do with metrology. Some think makurdi is being punished for her sins. Others think when the earth does her daily rotations, she stops leaving makurdi at the tip of hell.

As i leave the cool shade back into the sun, i wonder what sin i might be paying for under that sun. Lying maybe? Last week, i was snooping around my mother’s pot. My hand picked a large chunk of meat and put it in my mouth. Unknown to me she was behind me the whole time. I turned around to the image of my mother holding a pistol and gently slapping it on my hand. I stop dead in my tracks, mouth full.

“what do i have in my mouth?” she asked
I swallow hard, knowing what’s coming my way. With my tongue i pushed the meat to the other side of my mouth. I then said my last prayers, and with a mouth half full of replies “A rat. A big fat ...

Sort:  

Congratulations @johnyblaz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43