I Love Su - Part 1, the People of Suriname

in #suriname7 years ago

Su_12.jpg

In this new video series I will highlight certain aspects of our life in Suriname. Suriname is a small country in the north of South America. It's one of the former Guyanas. There are only about half a million people living in Suriname. Paramaribo is the capital of the country with a population of around 250.000 people.

Su_14.jpg
Traditional clothing including some beautiful angisas (headscarfs).

Suriname is a former Dutch colonie. There are many different cultures and religions living peacefully side by side. Suriname is probably the only country where the main mosque is right next to synagogue and the cathedral is just a stone's throw away. In this short video I'll take you on a little trip, starting with a beautiful sunrise in Commewijne, the Commewijne river, New Amsterdam and the Palm Garden in Paramaribo during the "Day of the Indigenous People".

Su_18.jpg
Orange-winged Parrot (Amazona amazonica) with his friendly companion.



I hope you enjoy the video.



Much love,

Gardenbsquared

output_O2maIr.gif


banner.jpg

Sort:  

This was such a lovely video. You are really a gifted photographer and you have a great skill in making videos too. I really enjoyed taking a walk through Suriname through your video so much so that I'll be featuring this in my curation post issue this coming week.

Thank you. I don't know what to say really. I'm very honoured but more importantly I love the fact that you actually watched it and enjoyed it. That's the best compliment, thank you.

Yeah I really enjoy this video. And now I wish to visit Suriname 😊
I really like your post because I am interested in knowing about different culture, norms and values of different communities living in the world. Thanks
For sharing 👍🏻

a lovely new world but still under the same sky
thank you for your smile