Surfing small long waves in Malibu, California

in #surfing6 years ago (edited)


Vacation days in America are more limited compared to Spain. Therefore, I tend to take advantage of the few long weekends to travel the coast of California looking for waves.

Typically, on Memorial Day weekend, I try to visit spots in Southern California. Summer in San Francisco tends to be quite cold, so heading South to look for a nicer weather is always a good excuse...

This year, while I was coming back from my trip to Orange County, I decided to take a little detour and check some spots in North Los Angeles.

Forecast was looking favorable for one of the first south swells of the season, and even though it wasn't as big as it ended up being later, these spots were starting to get some lines...

First Point, in Malibu, one of the most classic waves in the whole state, got a little bit of this swell... and I could not
waste this opportunity to film and catch some waves with my longboard.

NOTE: If the video does not load properly, you can check the YouTube alternative here


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Kalabanga dude!! This is so cool @watto. I gotta get theses Steem to come and visit the waves in Malibu. Is the ocean cold that side, because I'm used to the Indian Ocean heat..

It’s such a magical place!

I can't wait..

Awesome! All about tha style!!

it's such a fun wave! always crowded, but I love going to Malibu in the summer, the vibe is unique. Completely different to any other spot in California.

YEW! Sick video brutha! Keep em roling! I know you have a ton more where this came from!

Hey small waves can be more fun than large waves sometimes. Way more opportunities for party waves with the bros and less chances of broken necks...
Dig the video!
Check me out sometime:
https://steemit.com/video/@hawaiisunshine/pulled-back-into-the-wave

100% agreed! I actually have more fun in small or medium waves, don't normally paddle out when it's bigger than 7 ft

Da Bu! Our favorite place to hang out in the summer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97