Wave Surfing Part 2: How To Start Surfing? - by chrisadventures

in #surfing8 years ago

One of the most breath taking moments were out there in the water. The power of the waves is incredible and my first stand ups were so satisfying. I always found wave surfing an interesting thing to do but I simply didn't know how to start doing it. At first, I was afraid it would be way too difficult and I saw many other obstacles before getting myself to do it. But in the end I used some simple tips and tricks to get myself doing it!

So how will you start wave surfing?

1. Surfing can be done anywhere

Surfing can be done anywhere, so be aware of your opportunities! I'm from the Netherlands and there's some good surf here I wasn't aware of before. A good surf is dependent on the circumstances. People often think that waves have to be large. I believe it's misunderstood because the best way to start surfing is with small waves (0,5 - 1 meters) with a preferred wave speed of 9 to 11 seconds. 

Did you know there's even people surfing in Alaska?

2. Hire a board and wetsuit

It's easy and cheap to hire a board and wetsuit. Surf schools have them and it shouldn't be too expensive to hire gear for a day. This way you can easily try out by yourself.

3. Just do!

I believe the most important way to learn surfing is to just do. People often think that you have to take lessons but I believe that being out there in the water will unconsciously help you understand the rhythm of the waves.

4. Create the opportunities

Personally I believe you have to create opportunities for yourself. For example, one year ago my university had sent me and fifty other students to different towns in England to do a field research. I asked my teacher whether I could do my research about surfing (yes, in England). I ended up staying at a host family with three surfboards and enough wetsuits to go for a daily surf during those two weeks. 

Photo: a surfer and view on Croyde, South-England, the place I did my surfing field research

5. Use the internet to learn techniques

You can take expensive lessons but you better use the internet to learn your techniques. It's for free and loads of people have walked this path before you. 

How to stand up on a board:

6. Just take a lesson once in a while

This will help you to have other people look at your technique and improve the things of surfing you don't get yet. It's useful and fun to do because lessons are often in groups and surf teachers can give you specific feedback on how to get better.

7. Live in a coastal area

If you wish to become a good surfer, it might be useful to find a place to live near the sea. I've recently moved to Valencia in Spain because of my study but another main reason is that there's surfing around too.

8. Make friends who surf

It's way easier and fun to go surf with friends. It will motivate you to keep going and others might help you get better. 

9. Stay in a surf camp

Surf camps are like hostels where you can stay with other people that want go there to learn and have a surf with other people. It's a nice atmosphere and is comparable with backpackers/youth hostels. 

10. Be patient!

Last one but actually one of the most important ones: be patient! At the beginning, it might be difficult to learn surfing but you'll get it sooner or later. 

You might think there's too many obstacles to start surfing but now you know there's enough opportunities too. I believe these tips and tricks will help you to start surfing if you really want yourself to. Stop dreaming, do it and make your dream become a reality!

Follow me and upvote if you liked this post, also read:

Wave Surfing part 1: Why You Should Start Surfing Today - An Experience in Life You Don't Want to Miss - by chrisadventures

#surfing #life #travel #inspiration #guide

Sort:  

love surfing and body boarding - lived and grew up by the coast and this was what we did most days in the summer - was't brill at it, but had lots of fun and lots of friends. Both my girls did the same. Can't beat wave boarding...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50