Surfing Kamala Bay, Phuket.

in #surfing8 years ago

I'd heard that it was possible to find a wave in Phuket, so my buddy and I jumped on a plane and headed to Kamala Beach for a few days in search of a wave.



When you picture Phuket, you imagine white sand beaches, crystal clear water and cocktails with umbrella hats. You don't come to Thailand for surf, if you want waves head to Indonesia; Bali and Lombok can't be beaten. However, for a few months of the year, the conditions are right for the west coast of Phuket to break. It's not great, it's not big, but you can ride it, and it makes for a pleasant distraction.



Kamala Beach

Kamala is one of 5 or so beaches that will break from the months of April to November. We arrived a little bit out of season so the best swell was gone. The other beaches which offer up a decent wave during these months are; Kalim, Kata, Nai Harn and Surin.



The Kamala Breaks

Kamala has 3 distinct breaks. The north end of the beach has a small right-hand break from the point that rolls and I've been told will swell to about 1metre, although today it was flat. There is also a small reef break a little further out. Unfortunately all we were left with today were the long breaks on the sandbanks in the centre of the beach. Apparently in peak season they can build up to 3metres. Today they were 0.5-1metre and breaking close to the beach.



I chose to purchase a cool fresh coconut to drink and sent my friend Suwat out while I took the photos. While the surf wasn't amazing we still had a lot of fun, and it proved to me that there are beaches in Phuket which can be surfed. I'll come back next year in the peak season and check all the beaches for a proper feature... anyway, I think its beer o'clock.




Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

The very first statement already killed it for me. Taking a plane in order to search a wave is the very best reason to do so ;-) Very nice spot and cool pictures, thanks for sharing! I had NO idea you can surf there.

I'd been hearing about surf in Phuket for a while, but wanted to check it out for myself. When a plane ticket from Bangkok is only about $40 its worth the adventure.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.45 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65