Surfing in the pool - Madeira Portugal

IMG_0963.jpg

IMG_1019.jpg

IMG_1069.jpg

When you are a surf photographer, you are used to seeing open landscapes, waves of the open sea and occasionally some mountains or rocks nearby.

On this occasion I went to photograph a surfing competition in Seixal, a small beach located north of the island of Madeira; my surprise was to get a large concrete square breakwater that due to its position forms a perfect left surf break for surfing. The color of the water and the geographical conditions of Seixal made me believe that it was surfing in the pool.

As a surf photographer I had not seen this type of sport and found it interesting and different from what we commonly see in most surf spots.

Sometimes as surfers we think that the breakwaters damage the spots but in this opportunity it gave the perfect conditions to form a new wave where naturally it was not possible.

It is worth noting that the breakwater was built to protect the small town of Seixal against the imposing and strong waves of the Atlantic.

I take the opportunity to invite you to meet and surf on the Island of Madeira, a small island located in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean with more than 20 world-class surf spots.

Sort:  

nice waves, looks like alot of fun.

thanks for sharing.

thank you @solominer, I'm glad you like it. I follow you.

Paisaje humanizado de espectáculo, como toda Madeira.

We have several jetty - breakwater spots over here but i think i would love to be in Madeira instead! Any more photos?

you have to come to know Madeira, the surf is starting, there are few surfers but very good waves ... I have some photos, I will go publishing them, regards ...

I look forward to seeing them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 59417.78
ETH 2588.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45