Inside a Surface Pattern Designer’s Sketchbook



When it comes to having a low barrier creative outlet I love to just sit down at times and simply start a pattern in my sketchbook without thinking too much. I do it whenever I need a creative jump start and try to have it hand at all times so I can make use of time that I would otherwise waste on trains, planes and queues looking out of windows, staring into space or getting sucked into a social media session! It is a nice break from the ‘serious’ surface pattern designing I set myself to do most of the time. I find it’s nice to just have a bit of pattern play sometimes!

My sketchbook is a simple squared Moleskine cahier. I take the square grid as a starting point and challenge myself to draw something new every single time, although I do explore and repeat themes and shapes at times. Sometimes I'll start out sketching with pencil and thinking a bit more about composition but mostly I'll force myself to use pen and markers to encourage making quick and intuitive decisions and discourage too much thinking. I like how I never quite know what the page is going to look like when I start. I try not to care too much about the end result as drawing in this specific sketchbook is meant as an creative exercise, but if I do end up with something I particularly like, I might recreate it digitally. I'll then either add it to my portfolio of licensable prints or upload it to one of the print-on-demand websites I submit to such as Society6 for products or Motiflow for fabrics. 

I love to see the sketchbooks of other designers and artists as it's an uncensored peek into their creativity. I find that it can be quite a personal thing as most things I draw in this sketchbook aren't meant for public display but I also like to be able to share more than finished designs, so I'll try to post more sneak peeks inside my surface pattern design sketchbook!


Sort:  

Really remarkable stuff. It must take a lot of patience to fill those pages. And your society6 designs look really sharp and professional.

My wife has a bunch of stuff over there as well. I won't spam you with a link here but I'm curious how your experience with that site has been.

There is indeed quite a lot of hours there. A lot of time also that otherwise would have been wasted on planes, trains and automobiles :-)

Regarding Society6, I think it works best if you already have an existing following that is really passionate about your designs. The sales I've made have been through promoting my designs myself, but I've never had any 'organic' sales unfortunately. I've also stopped putting too much effort into it as the royalties are only really interesting if you generate large volume of sales.

I'd be interested to see your wife's work, so by all means please spam me with links :-)

Drawing is a much better use of those hours, I'd definitely agree!

Since you were kind enough to ask - here's Donna's Society6 page. She does a lot of whimsical animal designs but has done some repeating patterns as well.

You're right, the royalties haven't been overwhelming for her. But she's pretty prolific with producing new images every day, sharing them on facebook, and hosting the Art Daily group over there (which is open to everyone by the way!) So I think most of her sales come through fans who follow her from elsewhere. It's nothing massive, but she has been seeing a slow and steady increase every month. She's signed up for Steemit and says she'll start posting as soon as she gets through this Summer cold.

Lovely to see your wife's work! Glad to hear her hard work is starting to pay off! I definitely don't put as much work in and probably won't for a while, as I really think that building a community on Steemit will be a lot more valuable in many ways. I say we get her steeming asap :-)

Thanks so much for taking the time to check it out. She's just posted her first piece here @donnadavisart so hopefully we'll have a lot more coming. You're right - I think there is more of a community over here.

That's great! However, she didn't use the introduceyourself tag, she might have missed out on some support from the community...

Oh - good point! I'll tell her about doing an official introductory post.

Amazing designs, I love the way you let your creativity go, your results are great! Success!

Congratulations @tishyaoedit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great idea to use a notebook with a grid. Thanks for posting!

It works! I somehow find a completely blank page intimidating sometimes...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94