Ice, Surf, and Stoke!

in #surf6 years ago

I'll start my first post off with some pics from an icy session last weekend that left me full of stoke.

The water was 38 Degrees, air temp 25, Winds about 15 MPH.

Yea, it was so cold that my buddy skated across frozen sand!

Growing up on the left coast, in warmer climates, I never thought in a million years I'd be winter surfing up and down (undisclosed) east coast locations. But it's something I got into about 10 years ago after a lifetime in the water and the stoke and bliss that comes from one of these sessions has become something I don't like to live without.

Is it more uncomfortable? Yes..
Is it harder to get motivated? Yes...
Should you always surf with a friend? Hell yes!

But here's the thing. You appreciate it more.

Each and every wave.

Hell, every duck dive you make it through.

The intensity of it all focusses you. And the struggle increases the pay off and pleasure.

And more often than not, especially on the colder days, and if you get off the beaten path, you get some of this all to yourself.

Like this....

And the post surf sun salutation feels great. Even if your eyelashes might freeze off while doing it.

Stoked to be on Steemit and maybe find a surf community. Hit me up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56