Surfing South Africa

in #surf6 years ago (edited)

I always loved photography and about 5 years ago discovered the enthralling and captivating sport of surf! One might wonder how it's possible that someone who has lived in a surf capital for 40 years has only recently "discovered" the joy of surf photography?

Even though I grew up about 15min drive from our closest beach, my family was not 'from the ocean'. So one day while walking the dogs on one of my favourite spots, I came across some surfers in the break and sat down to watch them a while, only to realise the while was a good 2 hours. The next weekend I brought my camera along and snapped a few hundred shots... and I can now firmly declare that that was when the bug bit! image

I am most happy to drive long distances to capture some good shots! Every year I travel to Jeffries Bay to watch the WSL competition. image Its an experience to be afforded the opportunity of watching the best surfers in the world compete!

image

Cape Town also has one Big Wave spot called Dungeons, which can be viewed from Chapman's Peak, or if you are lucky enough, to book a spot on a boat to watch the action from close up. image

image

And then Cape Town is renown for our pumping winds from December through to March and so many kite surfers from around the world reside here during that time. In February we host the Red Bull King of Air. image

image

I also chase sunsets... and what better a find to capture a sunset WITH surfers in action! image

Sort:  

Beautiful surf photos @cape-town! I know you said you only recently started shooting these but it looks like you've been at it a while, nice work! It also looks like you're new here so I wanted to share a great post written by a steemit friend that has some useful info for new steemit photographers. I hope you don't mind me posting the link: https://steemit.com/steemit/@gabyoraa/useful-information-for-new-and-old-photographers-on-steemit

The contests and games are a great way to connect with other photo loving folks here. I hope you have a ton of fun and success on steemit!

Thank you so much for the compliment and link to article!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67