You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You are with Jess Wandering - Wanderer of world

in #supersteemian5 years ago

Hey @steem-diva! Welcome to Steem :)

You seem to be an adventurer which should go well hand in hand with Steem. That is my opinion anyway :D

Being a Finn, the blog about your trip to Finland caught my eye - I read the whole thing! I think it was really cool that you experienced - not only the mandatory sauna - but also a touch of the indigenous Sami people's culture. I am no Sami myself, but the joiku style of singing is really cool and I like to dabble with it myself, too.

Most people would avoid Finland during the winter during the cold (even we ourselves, flying over Canarias for a holiday) but that only makes the experience even more unique, especially when you get to experience places like Lapland then.

A bit of funny side note: when I was in Budapest last autumn, visiting a spa, there was a "Finnish" sauna. Quotation marks, because THERE WAS NO LÖYLY! I was wondering this to my travel companion: "where is the löyly, saunabath? You know, the water which is thrown on to the ro rocks..." (I don't know if anybody knew what I was talking about) I joked that without löyly it becomes a Swedish sauna 😁 (but seriously though, Finnish sauna ain't Finnish without löyly!)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hey @celestal Its great to see you have read the full post and yes that's the magical place to be at believe me in winter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58889.18
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47