Super Smash Bros Direct 11/1/2018

in #supersmashbros6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, Nintendo have uploaded their last SSB direct and it's truly been one of the most epic thing I and other fans have seen. So many exciting details which is enough to make me want the game even more. It seemed Masahiro Sakurai really knows how to make a finale worth seeing.

Alright, now it's time to express my thoughts on this direct by starting with the new characters:

Ken

He's basically another echo fighter (or as fans originally call them, clones) so he pretty much has moves that are similar to Ryu's including his two unique final smashes. Since I never bought the DLC containing Ryu back on the previous game, I'm not too big on this character but I'm pretty sure alot of fans are thrilled to play as this character.

Incineroar

So looks like we got ourselves another starter Pokemon joining the Smash and Greninja got himself a rival. This Pokemon looks pretty fun to play as in the game and his moves looked very powerful too. Max Malicious Moonsault is freaking awesome too, but why does it take place in the boxing ring from Punch-Out? Is it because that's the place where he used the move on Ken during the trailer? Either way, Incineroar will definitely be one of my mains once the game comes out.

Piranha Plant

I'm pretty sure no one have seen this coming...and it happened! Piranha plant, one of the recurring enemies in the Mario series have join in as well. By the looks of it, he's easily one of the most strangest character I seen in any games and who knew he's capable of walking around :D I like the idea that lot of his moves are based on many different types of Piranha Plant species such as a Putrid Piranha from Paper Mario, a ptooie from Super Mario Bros 3 and even Petey Piranha appears as his final smash. I'll love to play as Piranha Plant and hopefully I could get him before 1/31/2019.

Sakurai did mention something called a Fighter Pass which is basically DLC containing fighters, stages and music tracks. It's never too late to predict another new fighter set to appear in the game so let's spectate while it last.

It's been revealed that there are about 59 assist trophies and you are also able to defeat them as way to prevent your opponents from getting an extra point. That's a pretty smart move but I like imagine them getting shocked at your betrayal and saying something like "How could you do this to meeeee-" KOed. I might feel a guilty doing this but at least it's better than nothing.

The final trophies are quite impressive and fun to use. So much that I don't even have a single favorite; I think all of them are awesome. I'll look forward to see them in action.

The spirits are a completely new thing to the series and ever since I saw them, I immediately become engrossed by the concept of it. Sure they may be just nothing more than magical versions of stickers from Brawl, but it's even better. Think about it, they're just the collectable trophies from the previous games but at the same time have very good use on both your characters and amibos. Now there's really worth a reason to collect many kinds of characters from many different franchises not just because we love many of them and give characters useful power-ups, but because they make great sidekicks, helping us as much as they can. Let's face it, they're almost like virtual pets (expect they don't die because...well they're spirits ;D), training them, feeding them and taking them on journeys through ruins.

As Sakurai pointed out:

"Each team can be somebody's dream come true!"

Easily the best part of this direct is none other than the story mode that everybody has been waiting for: World of Light. There's SO many things to talk about this and I'm gonna start at the beginning.

In the beginning, we see all the characters getting captured by a mysterious deity called Galeem with an army of master hands. Who is this deity? We don't know but we do know that is called the "ultimate enemy". Kirby was the only one who escaped and found himself in a strange new world; full of spirits (the ones that I mentioned before). Meanwhile, everybody have been turned into stone by Galeem and the spirits possesses them; turning them into shadowy version of themselves. So basically, I believe the point is this story is trying to capture these wandering souls and trying to save the other characters from their control.

The biggest surprise of this mini-trailer was the song and not just any song, but a song with lyrics! This song was very epic and beautiful, it truly captures the feeling of this whole situation at hand and the journey to save the world.

The gameplay seemed to involve around the characters traveling in many different worlds; some of which are based off the ones from many series. There's even several uses of these spirits such as using Lapras to travel across the water or using a Mini-Zapfish to power up machines. The boss Galleom makes a re-appearance in this mode so maybe others could appear as well or maybe newer ones either from other series or completely original.

It seemed Nintendo these days are coming up with many unique ways that are enough to surprise the fans and Super Smash Bros Ultimate is absolutely no exception. I'm already hype up for this game and can't wait to get my hands on it once it hits the stores because I'm sure it's going to be the biggest and most epic game I'm ever going to play.

There are other things on the videos that I haven't talk about but these are only my thoughts so I'll love to hear some from you viewers, what is your own thoughts on this final direct?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77