CALLING ALL SUPERNATURAL THRILLER FANS! What makes an unforgettable supernatural thriller?

in #supernaturalthriller7 years ago (edited)

I want to know what gets you on the edge of your seat and creates your heart to beat so fast that you feel you have a drum in your chest.

Next week starts the countdown to my short story collection, and in the first week I am focusing on my favourite writing genre, which is supernatural thriller; I would value your advice and thoughts.

With my maverick mindset, I like to drift off into different genre's, writing styles, and formats. I am aware that I have an ability to completely confuse people if I don't control my busy mind.

I liken my mind to gremlins digging in my head with a small spoon, looking for a way to escape!

I am going to take you through my creative writing experience which will bring you to the publication of 'Volume One of the Penny Drop Collection', my passion for writing in different genres, and of course, any tips I learn along the  way. (You can see my last book launch journey below)

https://www.aubreyfoxbooks.com/blog

So, back to supernatural thriller lovers. 

  • What makes a good supernatural thriller?
  • How to like a book to read (In first person, fast paced, subtle, very descriptive...etc)?
  • Your favourite supernatural thriller film or book?

It's great to understand the diverse passions of people who read in this genre. 

What are we looking for in a good supernatural thriller book ?
 

Sort:  

Oooo, love supernatural thrillers!

I think what makes it good is sense of believability. Things start off normal, something small happens that's weird, then something else bigger, so that no matter how outlandish it becomes, it's still rooted in reality. Those are the things that get under my skin. 😨

To that end, I like the first person POV.

The first one that popped in my head is the 1963 original version of "The Haunting" (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0057129/?ref_=fn_al_tt_2). Hubby and I have watched a bazillion scary films, yet that one (which we saw on television one stormy night in our dark apartment with only a couple of candles lit - we were prepared in case the power went out) scared the bejesus out of us!

Oh, and I think the link to your book launch journey is missing - either that, or I need more coffee! 😄

No I need the coffee haha, you may have gathered by now I am technically challenged. I watch a lot of films and I struggle to find ones like the old classics! I think we make things to real now, there's no room for the imagination. Heres my link I will try and put in the post but I fear I may cock it up haha. https://www.aubreyfoxbooks.com/blog

LOL! You did well - I see it in the post now. Heading over to check it out in a bit!

i feel fear after reading your post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63508.13
ETH 2493.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68