$1000 3D Superman coin

in #superman6 years ago

I found out today the Royal Canadian Mint is releasing a new $1000 Superman coin. It was designed by one of DC's top artists Jason Fabok and it's actually pretty sweet looking!

superman-sculpture-3d-last-son-of-krypton-10-oz-silver-coin-100-canada-2018.jpg
Picture credit: Powercoin

With a limited mintage of 1000 pieces this coin is 10 oz of pure silver with gold plating. It's available for pre-order but it appears they may already be sold out?

SupermanFabok-600x300.jpg

Titled the Last Son of Krypton the depth on this piece is fantastic and I'm sure alot of Superman collectors would enjoy this, the price tag for me however is far too large to swallow!

Here's a sketch by the artist

SupermanCoin.jpg

It appears Superman is breaking out of the coin and about to fly away. This isn't the first "lenticular" coin produced by the RCM they have other animal inspired offerings and they're all super high priced!

Let me know in the comments what you all think of the coin?

Have a great day!

@goldenarms

DQmW9YxeSqqsKR2yv7ZHMGvhUtoR4zRVQeGYDCRVhpegSTE.png

Sort:  

RCM is well known for selling extremelly overpriced coins. If you want one of them, just wait one or two years and you will buy it on Ebay by half-price.

Not me man, I started buying their over priced coins and then quickly switched to just bullion offerings

spending $1000 on $220 oz silver (but it looks good).. hrmm

maybe the rarity bumps it u to $600.. ;) maybe

Collectors will pay crazy prices for dumb shit as I've experienced lol

That’s not a coin, it’s a statue. But comic geeks with buy that at any price. Not me.....

Yeah it'd be hard to get this in a airtight! Hard to believe they keep cranking these pieces out, someone must be buying them 🤷

You put this thing in an "airtight" cube. I think it would look pretty sick :)

Wow, that's impressive. I can say that I haven't seen a coin like that before. I wouldn't mind owning one, but I don't know where I'd keep it. Also, the $1,000 price tag puts a damper on my likelihood of getting one.

I'm gonna hold off and wait for a lifesized version 😂

"I'm gonna hold off and wait for a lifesized version of Supergirl."

Just kidding. My wife wouldn't like that. Actually, I wouldn't either. It would take up too much space. I'd rather have a stack of gold or silver bricks. :D

guys pay hundreds of dollars for plastic action figures so why not this?

This is so cool. Fabok is an awesome artist they picked to do this

He also did design work on DC Essentials figures

The actual figures

Wow that's like nothing I've ever seen. Love the idea. Thanks for the heads up on this @goldenarms

Really!!!! the RCM have become more like commercial silversmiths. It is so unreal enough that the RCM pumps out hundreds of commemorative and different series (ssss) in a year. Then they take advantage of the fact that they are a sovereign mint and put a legal tender status on that coin and THAT is not a coin. Give us a break!!! Why don't they just market that as what it is: a small statue of some sort, instead of a coin? They are are pandering to a collector's baser instincts of collecting the newest and most unique "coin". Don't get me wrong. That 10oz silver art piece is outstandingly beautiful, kudos to RCM designers... but it is NOT a coin, even if it is bullion and not intended for circulation. Just my opinion, and just saying.

When I saw this coin on my email from the mint, I have to admit, I said in a little girls voice.. "eeeee, I wann I wann I wann I wann eeeee".

My old man brain luckily kicked in before I clicked buy! That's the problem with the mint having your credit card on file!

I still wann though! 🤣

Just another gimmick and way for a government to profit off stupid people. I'm sure it will be successful 🤦

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54