Superman vs the KKKsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #superman7 years ago (edited)

Apparently this is getting ready to be made into a film. The story, however, has been told on film already. I heard of this little historical gem from Drunk History on Comedy Central.
Superman.png

In The 1940's...

Radio was your connection to the world. This was a radio series done in 1946, and I will make sure to provide links for information.. but what I am really struck by is how effective the show was in battling racism.

Stetson Kennedy joined the KKK to share information he gathered with producers of the Superman radio show. These secrets were widely spread completely undermining the Klan. It took a powerful movement that had invaded police and politics, and reduced it to a laughable joke... spread nationwide on a kiddy show.

The Adventures of Superman radio program did more to undermine the Klan’s influence than decades of law enforcement. Within two years of the Superman radio broadcasts, people were no longer cowering in fear of the Klan, instead showing up at their rallies to mock and heap scorn on the once powerful group

Today

I wish this started to be an option today as well. Racism has again become an issue, or must that mean it never stopped being an issue and I was able to ignore it from a perch of white privilege?

First, I like that a lot of the conversations being had are ones that make you really think about your place and role in the matter. I want to have the conversations that maybe exposes an ugly bit of myself I wasn't really aware of, I invite them! While I regret the conversation still needing to be had, I would love to tackle the unconcious bias form of racism that still exists today.

I would also love to take a 1946 approach to laughing my ass off at the ridiculous people... dare to dream right?

EDIT: Oops forgot link :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54