You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Clip Studio Paint, Attempt No. 2 (Oil Painting)

in #superheroine6 years ago

I use the wireframes heavily to layout my pages. But I do my best to just translate them to a traditional “mannequin” underdrawing and then exaggerate a bit & draw from scratch. The perspective tools in Clip are incredible, but the models can come off a bit stiff if you use them too closely. You can actually alter your character models build & dimensions and save them as different variants for various characters & body types too. A lot of 3D models can be imported too, which is great when you need vehicles or prop references at all kinds of angles.

Sort:  

That's what I need to figure out at some point. How to build 3D character models, so that my character proportions are less random from frame to frame... but yeah, I can see how just tracing over the models will lead to sort of stale movement. Still useful for proportions and weird angles. I've always had issues with drawing armpits when the arms are in weird positions so that's nice.

It’s pretty easy to alter proportions in Clip Studio to at least get a customized mannequin going. Making a bulkier type makes the anatomy wonkier but still works for layouts. This was some customizing/importing experimenting I did getting to grips with stuff. The female characters are slightly different heights & builds and there’s more extreme troll & goblin stand ins.


FBD97D9F-BEF9-45DA-B39D-AB5758AAFBBE.jpeg


I know I’ve posted these before, but here’s glimpses of some of my Clip Studio layouts. I’ll admit, I’ve been bouncing over to Procreate more for some of the drawing work... but both programs are excellent and have strengths of their own. I’m constantly torn on my workflow & deciding what to use...


58B9C103-BCEB-4ABA-B712-954B26E97CC4.jpeg


8A22CF46-1669-4BAA-96A2-C0ED619E05C2.jpeg


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76