Storm's comin!

in #sunset7 years ago

We've had thuderstorm after thunderstorm in central New Brunswick, this week. One minute it's beautiful, sunny and warm; the next minute, it's dark, cold and pouring cats and dogs. There was even a bit of hail at one point. In JUNE!

This temperamental weather has reminded me of the summer I spent in Winterton, Trinity Bay in Newfoundland. This is a small town of about 450 people. There's one diner, one convenience store, three churches, a funeral home, a museum, and a fire hall. The nearest city (which would qualify only as a town anywhere else but Atlantic Canada) is half an hour away, and there were definitely residents who never left Winterton. It's lucky I like tv because other than working at the museum, there wasn't much to do that summer!

The view, however, was amazing! And, being right on the coast, the weather was always dramatic. I rented a room in a house at the top of the town (which spread up over a large hill above the harbour), so I had first hand knowledge if a storm was coming in. These pictures were taken with a phone, but the colours are still pretty true to life.

FB_IMG_1498326182239.jpg
It definitely poured that afternoon!

FB_IMG_1498326177170.jpg
The sunsets were always spectacular!

Even on a normal day, the view of the harbour was breathtaking. The first day, I snapped a picture from my bedroom window.
FB_IMG_1498326211226.jpg

In general, I hated my 2 year stay in Newfoundland (for reasons that have nothing to do with the location at all), but those moments of reflection under a brilliant sunset in Winterton sure went a long way towards redeeming those two years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60799.23
ETH 2640.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58