Sunday Scent Experience - Rick Simpson Oil

in #sundayscentexperience7 years ago (edited)

I've just stumbled across a very interesting lady, a real aromatherapist! @dutchess is asking for Sunday scent experiences so I'm making this one short because I can see the entries pouring into her feed.

I'd like to share a smell I don't like that much - the heady pong of Rick Simpson oil being distilled. I can't describe it so have chosen to use an image. This picture describes what the potent combination of alcohol, weed and terpenes says (or should I say "hums") to my nose:


Thanks to Pixabay

We used to have an indoor grow and a small "lab" downstairs (messy corner of the living room). There's not much ventilation and we were reluctant to open the windows in case the neighbours caught the scent downwind. (We also love our dogs and didn't want to knock their noses out.)

I've read somewhere that there can be some kind of link between the gag reflex and smell so I was careful not to get "smoked out" by the smell: my body might have developed the habit of gagging at the oil - and been unable to swallow it.

Happy Sunday Scent Experience (but not if you are making rso)!

Sort:  

Hi @dutchess, nice initiative.
Hi @healingherb, interesting stuff about the oil.
Greatings from the driver as well.

Hi @likedeeler, I've been checking out your interesting posts, too :)

Hey @healingherb. Nice you joined. Thank you for your kind words and introducing me to your followers, i really appreciate it. The scent of cannabis oil is bitter, i know it very well. I use it to sleep better, since i am recovering from cancer treatments.
I love the snail pic, though not your own. Maybe you can add a pic that you made yourself, next week (i am very fond on original content) - i will upvote you though! Thanks for joining and hoping to see you next week again!

Thank you very much, Dutchess. I'm very pleased to hear that you are recovering. Yes, it is the most amazing substance for sleep. I'm sure you know more about it than I do but in my experience, rso seems to heal the spiritual bodies, too.

Next time, I'll try to find something of my own to post :)

Yes i can imagine so.....i use thc oil. And i guess like all plant devices that have an effect on how your mind works, it also has an effect on your spritual body - but you need to consiously work with that. I do whenever i can. First it helps me getting very aware in my body and after that i let my spirit float wherever it wants to......this passes over in sleep
It makes enhances deep sleep (stage 4) and shortens rem sleep i feel. This deep sleep fase was shortened for me the last decade due to an undiagnosed apneu
So this oil works for me on many levels 🌿

Sounds as if you are really catching up on your sleep now :)

I have always loved eating every part of the healing herb! I also love to juice leaves and buds - in a macerating juicer with fresh squeezed apple or orange - quite delicious... and hugely beneficial!

Hey are you getting a safe amount of ventilation there? Making oil can be dangerous as you may know - a good carbon filtered Kitchen hood fan over your hob should be used - or you could get an in-line fan and charcoal filter from your local weed grow shop... these will neutralise all smell.

all the best

images.png

Hey, icedrum - we are so interested in the same topics, despite being miles apart in age and geography. Yes, the juice is delicious and really healthy but there's only so much you can drink so we ended up having to feed our leftover (mostly male) plants to our rabbits! (It seemed to help them sleep all day, too - Lucky's eyelids used to droop!)

We've stopped making it now (I should blog why, actually) but if we'd carried on we would have better equipped our "lab".

Wow excellent - you must have the healthiest rabbits too!
Hmm interesting ... you probably should blog why you stopped - that could be very useful and interesting for the community!

keep well

Thanks @healingherb
I love this oil its a true miracle on this planet.
Blessings

Cannabis oil really helped my sister with her tuberculosis. She's recovering much faster now

Pleased to hear it. It seems to clear a person's system up completely - she will be much much better if my experience is anything to go by. Clever lady - please send her my best wishes and say get well soon :)

Thank you. I owe this to @arconite. Helped me with the oil. It's hard and very illegal where I am from.

love that you used an image to share a smell - brilliant and it completely works!

I like that too. Genius!

Amazing and nice post ,i like ;)

Well done for making this treasured medicine but it stay safe and get some proper ventilation going!!! Not wor having healing medicine if you destroy yourself making it 😂

You're right - we never realised how much "steem" there was going to be in that department! We've stopped making it now but would have re-equipped the "lab" is we'd kept going :) Thank you for your very valid safety concerns.

Congratulations @healingherb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Me too ! There's nothing better than the smell of fresh growing weed. No ventilation problems here, I grow it under the sun. What do you do with the alcohol and terpenes (is that turpentine?). I'm always looking for some way to use the leaves. Usually I cook them in coconut oil and water... when it cools down it separates out ..the oil in the oil and all the green stuff in the water. Then use the oil for baking cookies.

@stillgideon you just made my mouth water there :) You're so lucky to be able to grow outdoors. We'd prefer to grow under the sun of course. The terpenes are part of the herb that give it certain smells and have different functions. Check them out:

https://www.leafly.com/news/cannabis-101/terpenes-the-flavors-of-cannabis-aromatherapy

It all gets very complicated so I don't get too into it: I'm no chemist. I wouldn't know a turpene from a turnip tbh.

We recycle our alcohol solvent. We make it ourselves so if we lose any during the oil-making process, we just top it up.

Yes, we also make oil from the leaves just like you do - we also use it topically. We dilute the rso with coconut oil, too.

Do let me know if you have a favourite cookie recipe - I do basic chocolate brownies. I'm not going to post about it because there's so much canna stuff on the web but recipe tips can be very useful :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09