Tall Ships Races 2017

in #summer7 years ago (edited)

So yesterday I went to see the Tall Ships Races in the city of Turku, Finland. The Tall Ships Races is a big event that starts in one harbor and continues on to a few other during the event time. This year the races started in Halmstad, Sweden and from there the ships sailed away to Kotka, Finland. They arrived in Turku where I was going to go see them on the 20th of July and the event here ends today when the ships make their departure towards Klaipeda, Lithuania. The races will end in Szczecin, Poland.

This was the first time I attended but I knew that Turku makes a great city for this event since the tall ships can be brought all the way into the city centre. All the ships are anchored in a very small area on both sides of the Aura river that divides the city. This makes it very easy to walk around and see everything and there's a lot of food tents and beer boats nearby so everything's pretty much in the same place and in walking distance. This is the fifth time Turku will act as one of the host harbors for the Tall Ships Races and every year the event attracts approximately half a million visitors to Turku making it the largest public event held in Finland.


This first picture is from when I arrived at the event. There were so many people that taking photos of the ships was a little challenging but some of them turned out good!

s1.jpg

These aren't even close to the biggest ones yet.


Here is one of the bigger ships:

s2.jpg

The event was a lot bigger than I expected and I could've easily spent the whole weekend there. I walked through the whole event and even tried to get on one of the biggest ships because I saw there were other people on it but the sailor that was keeping guard said they weren't taking any more people in so I just had to continue looking from the outside instead. Here are a couple more photos of the biggest ships that were there.

s5.jpg


s6.jpg


s7.jpg


After I had walked to the end I happened to run into a friend and he told me that he had been on the other side of the river to look at those ships but that it was mostly smaller ships there and more restaurants and bars. So I decided to not walk over there and instead only stayed on the side with the biggest ships. I started walking back towards the beginning and took one more photo from a different angle. Here it is:

s8.jpg


So that was Tall Ships Races for this year for me but I will definitely be coming back next year. I had a blast there and some of those big ships are just so beautiful and majestic. See you next year

s3.jpg


I hope you all liked this and also had a great weekend 😁

Take care everyone and have a good Sunday!

Peace out, Strawhat ✌

DQmf1KgawnyxdswfvLC224LyL5Vj4uTHYYTE7LNUZsoLarj_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Oh finally, was waiting for ship races.
The view is magnificent, can't imagine how long is it to make one of these ships heh.

Here they are :) it really was a great view!
Yeah probably a long time :D

Great photos! Those ships look amazing!

Thanks :) yeah, they were pretty cool

Those ships are beautiful . Nice photos.

They really were :) thank you!

Ah i remember the visit with my grand dad in the port of Oostende (belgium). There was at that time a boat show with these tall ships. Was a amazing sight to see.

Nice pictures!

I love your Monkey D Luffy image :D

It really was amazing to see all those huge ships! :D thank you :) haha me too :D

Tall Ships! Most certainly, each one of them are pieces of artwork, your photography really emphasizes their beauty and size. The first ship reminded me of The Interceptor in Pirates of The Caribbean, The first movie. Good to see you back safely. Did you smoke?

They are really beautiful. I'd love to be able to see them at sea with all the sails up.
Haha yeah it did look a little like it :D Thank you !
No I'm still smoke-free :) gonna include an update on that in a future post !

your life is so cool and full of adventure i wish i could be there too

I try to make it so atleast! :) maybe one day you come here and visit and see for yourself :)

i wish i could have fun in my life but unfortunately i have uncure able disease so i avoid travel :(

I'm very sorry to hear that :( stay strong my friend!

Oh these are really Big then what i have thought at the staring you really seem to enjoy your day out there :D
Glad to read your post.

It was loads of fun actually :) thanks!

Holy shit, those ships are gorgeous. I wish I could check those out in person, lol. Thanks for sharing these pics!

Maybe you can one day! Keep an eye out for this event next year :)

I'd definitely love to visit Finland, and if this is going on whenever I'm able to I definitely will check them out!

Also, I find it kind of funny someone with Monkey D. Luffy as his profile picture is posting these ships :P Haha.

the tall ships are amazing. I remember going to the sea when I was just a kid and admiring them for hours. Thanks for making me remember that it is worth alot!

Sounds like you must've had a great time :) I'm glad i could!

Oh no! i forgot all about the tall ship races 17 in Sirevåg, Norway... oh well, next time

Oh no! Well there's always next year yea :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62