Summer activities

in #summer6 years ago

There has been a great weather here in Finland (yes, up here in North). Actually last Monday was really hot: Finland was the hottest place in Europe! Summer has officially begun.

As the summer started, we started also our favourite summer activities: road biking and stand up paddling. Last weekend I cycled about 90 kilometres around the local lake. The temperature was perfect but I have to say that I was a little bit rusty after the winter and my butt was a quite sore after sitting three and a half hours on the hard saddle. My goal is to cycle 1000 kilometres in total this summer so I hope that it wouldn’t rain too much (sometimes summers can be very rainy here…).

We went to stand up paddling on Tuesday for the first time this year. Actually it is possible to do that always when lakes aren´t frozen but we prefer doing it on summer time only… :D We don´t have boards of our own but we have been thinking about buying two of them. Renting costs 15 euros/1 hour or 20euros/2,5 hours and those boards that we want to buy costs about 1000euros/board. We haven´t decided what to do yet. 2000 euros for two boards sounds just very expensive but we rent those really often so I don´t know would it be smart to buy own boards. It is always possible that summer is really rainy and cold and then boards would just be in our garage. Any recommendations for cheaper boards?

IMG_2825.jpg
(Mrs.Heinze´s legs this time, not mine.)
IMG_2688.jpg

But hey, on Tuesday the weather was more than perfect. Sun was shining and temperature was about 28 Celsius degrees. I don’t know the temperature of the lake but the water felt freezing! I have never fallen in to the water but this time I was extra careful that it wound´t happen this time either!
IMG_2827.jpg
IMG_2740.jpg
I can really recommend stand up paddling. It´s really relaxing and improves your balance :)

Really waiting for the next weekend: I´m going to try a new biking route on Saturday and maybe supping on Sunday if the weather is good. Have a great weekend everybody!

Sort:  

Stand up paddling looks fun!🤩 However, I could not imagine myself trying it as I’m too afraid of falling among pikes. 🙉😅

Haha 😄 you won’t fall! I recommed trying, it’s so much fun.

It is in fact very easy so I don't think you'll fall. Give it a go!

I'm sure you'll do just fine! I thought I would have felt but soon enough I realised it it's very easy. :)

True..:) And of course good board makes supping easier.

Based on all of these encouragement, the all I can do is try it. 😛💪

On your first time use a big and broad board. It's more stable.

Thanks for the tip, I have to try it. 🙏🏽

It´s fun when weather is good.

Yes it is! Unluckily it has been too cold(and windy) now 😞

Absolute

Is there any weight limit or how much the badling board can take without sinking?

Yes there is. It’s 90-100kg if I remember right! Of course it depends on the board.

Good to know

Stand up paddling is very cool activity during summer times.

Yes it is. Have you tried it? :)

Yes, I have tried it at a bachelor party of my friend. I actually was a bestman so I arranged it for the group.

Ok cool, I`m sure he liked it.

I've also tried this on a bachelorette party of my friend. :D

Looking Cool! I love this kind of summer activies:) Ënjoy, guys;)
Btw. I have no idea that board is so expensive!

Thanks, we will! ;) Yep, and I have no idea why it’s so expensive!

It's a high tech product that needs very accurate design, good materials and it's not a mass product. Unfortunately, those things make it expensive.

Congratulations @heinze4! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @heinze4! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34