Wondrous Watermelon

in #summer7 years ago (edited)

What fruit makes summer? No fruit like the good ol' watermelon, as far as I'm concerned.

20170707_150519.jpg

I planted a few watermelon seeds at the edge of a mulch pile this spring, crossed my fingers and walked away. Much to my surprise (after much of my garden ended in dissapointment when heavy rains took a toll on my seeds) these watermelon seeds finally sprouted and took off. I would have to estimate that these plants are growing close to a foot a day in all directions.

20170707_150632.jpg

I have spoken to many gardeners who just haven't had good luck with watermelon in my area. I planted one seedling last year and harvested five decent fruit. I wondered if it was just luck. Looking at this years progress so far, I would have to say it isn't just luck.

20170707_150644.jpg

20170707_150653.jpg

I've proven over and over that I don't have a particularly green thumb, so I can't take all the credit. I think it is because I'm using mulch with the "Back to Eden" gardening method. I know most people gardening these days are at least familiar with this method, but if you aren't you should check it out at Back to Eden Film.com. The way it is explained by gardener Paul Gauchi, the mulch captures water when needed and displaces the excess. I don't water my garden much, if at all. Granted, I may have better results with some plants if I do, but honestly I don't think anything I've grown has failed due to lack of water. The mulch does a really good job of keeping it damp just an inch or two below the surface. There are many more benefits of this method that I feel make it worthwhile.

20170707_150604.jpg

But this isn't a post about "how-to" this or "you should" that. I just wanted to share my watermelon success!

Thanks for reading!

Edit: Like I said, I really don't have a green thumb. While I love gardening, I'm still learning. My wife brought it to my attention that these watermelon looked more like squash. Well, I believe she is right. They look more like butternut squash leaves. So, let's laugh a little, because I can't delete a blockchain post.

What about you? How is your garden doing? Have you grown watermelon? Any tips or advice that might help?

Sort:  

Squash, watermellon, whats the difference right?

Keep up the good work mate! With time comes experience :)

Oh, that gif SO describes my reaction to my wife. Thanks for a good morning laugh to enjoy with my coffee!

Looks good for just throwing some seeds down. I doesn't look like anything is eating your plant either. The deer around me eat everything.

The deer have taken a lot but apparently haven't found these yet!

The best watermelon i ever grew were volunteers from throwing scraps to the chickens. Yours look like they are doing great.

If they keep doing this well I won't know what to do with it all!

I'll be happy to eat whatever comes from the garden, whether you call it by the right name or not. (But i might have to prepare it the proper way. I don't think i want raw squash for dessert!)

Last year, much to my surprise, we successfully grew watermelon (New Hampshire) and it was so good. the chickens, doggie and I ate it up.
We were only able to get one plant this year but it is growing and spreading around the large area we left for it. I give credit to the alpaca beans that we spread in the soil.

I've heard good things about alpaca poo! Wish I knew where to find some.

We read that it is good for the fruit trees and looked on the internet and found a place close by to us in Vermont...just the other side of Mt. Ascutney.
He gives it away.
Thanks for the wing clipping video. Lee is staying in her run and recovering.

Good, keep us posted.

Oh poor Lee. Today she was squawking and I went out and saw a groundhog inside her run!
By the time I got to her the groundhog was outside the fence sitting on the grass munching on something. (maybe 2 seconds) I can't see how it got in and out but it sure moved fast. Do you know if they are a danger to chickens?

I'm not sure but I doubt it. Definitely a danger to the garden, though.

I think you're probably right in your edit that they're not watermelons. They do look like squash leaves. But hey, if they're edible, that's still a good thing, right?

Food is food! I'm good with it. A little embarrassing to post that it was watermelon, though. ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53