You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That one time I had suicidal thoughts... long ago

in #suicide7 years ago (edited)

I truly lost a little of that fearlessness due to a car accident before my child was born. Yet, that was cars. I still was fearless in pretty much every other way.

Though my parents DID both stop drinking alcohol cold turkey when I was 17. Yet, by then my mind was already kind of programmed with the fearless quality.

I tell you for certain I lost it with the birth of my first child. That is a profound moment of change. People talk about it, but it is one of those things you have to experience to really understand.

Sort:  

Yes, I believe you. Having kids myself has changed my life bigtime. I am making sacrifices I would not make if it weren't for them.

Kind of curious now, do you know what caused your parents to quit alcohol cold turkey?

Well my mother wanted to quit for some time and tried a few times. When alcohol is around it makes it worse, so my father would not quit. I suspect it was a couple of things.

  1. I'd have been totally fine with them divorcing before that. I think that sunk in that I was so angry about it that it wouldn't hurt me at all for them to divorce.
  2. My mother being finally willing to leave him.

He locked himself in a trailer for 5 days and went through the torture of that. He said there were times it felt like spiders were crawling all over him.

They both still smoked Marijuana but ALL of our lives immediately improved. He found a love for making hand crafted furniture.

If you told anyone that knew him the last couple of decades of his life (he is gone due to cancer) that he was a violent and aggressive person they would look at you like you were nuts. At the time he was one of the least violent people that anyone knew and he was known for being very wise.

Alcoholism can make anyone a monster. Once it is gone it is much like receiving an exorcism. It didn't happen all the time. It was like gambling. Roll the dice and see if the monster would come out. Certain types of alcohol were more likely to cause it than others.

Wow, thanks for sharing that. He really turned his life around when he saw what he was about to lose.

Yes, he was a great guy. He truly loved us a lot. I am also his only son by adoption. They tried to have more, but could not.

Yet drinking the way they drank grabbed a hold and truly became like a demon riding his back.

I was extremely anti-alcohol for quite a few years. I hated it and everything about it.

These days I don't care as long as people are responsible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60784.40
ETH 2633.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61