FRUIT SUGAR AND SKIN - My experience and opinion on the sugar content in fruit.

in #sugar7 years ago

About 6 months ago, I felt super run drown, stressed and all over achey, struggling with a breakout across my forehead that refused to budge no matter what I did. As someone who's always had relatively clear skin, I was quite perplexed but put it largely down to stress. Eventually, I went to go see a naturopath who told me 2 things I would never want to hear:

  • Firstly, start eating meat
  • Secondly, stop eating so much fruit -1 piece per day, 1 banana per week! (I mean pulleeeaaase, I eat Bananas daily)
    Of course eating meat was never an option, and eventually I actually walked out of the appointment because I disagreed so much with what he was saying. Despite this, I did largely minimise my fruit for around about a month after reading a lot on how 'fruit is bad due to its large sugar content. And guess what? Nothing happened besides the fact that I really missed fruit.

Currently, my breakfast usually consists mainly of fruit, I snack on fruit and my desserts are always fruit based. I would say I have, on average, 4 servings of fruit a day. This morning, I had two bananas in the breakfast pictured below + additional fruit. My skins completely fine now and no, I don't experience "constant sugar crashes" (@ crappy naturopath.) In fact, I feel better than I have ever felt!

What I'm trying to say is that, while i understand everyones body and skin reacts in a certain way to certain things, please DONT jump on the assumption eating too much fruit is 'bad' due to sugar content, and will cause problems similar to eating added sugars. I didn't and I'm definitely benefiting from it :) Fruit contains important nutrients including fibre, vitamins and minerals- and are not an empty, concentrated fructose hit like added sugars. In fact, fruit provides a FANTASTIC source of energy and will always be a better option than any processed snack that claims 'low sugar.'
So yes, many of my breakfast and dessert recipes will contain a lot of fruit !
Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 9.39.09 pm.png

Sort:  

You are totally right, I agree with you. Your plate looks delicious. I will follow you because I love everything that is natural and that you have talent to cook. Good job

Thank you so much ! I do love this sort of stuff and I really appreciate the follow :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.55
ETH 2482.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38