First day at college :- where are we ..?

Hello my friends , I want to tell you about my first day at college , you may asking What is the relevance of this subject to science?. Wait for it . I am studying at faculty of science , Cairo university ,Egypt, physics department , and in my first day (like any one ) I met new friends talked to new people and attended my first lecture . it was about astronomy lecture , it was entitled “where are we?”. It is a simple question , but sometimes simple questions have the most amazing answer ,

We are here
()

On that little blue plant ‘earth’ and the earth in the solar system which in the Milky way galaxy , but is that it. Definitely no . you an not imagine how big our universe is , first let me start from the beginning , the earth , do you know what is the distance between the earth and the sun ? , it is about 150 million kilometers it is a long distance is not it ? (wait to know light year). This distance called AU (Astronomical Unite) , and the distance from the sun to the last plant in the solar system is about 39.5 AU. Although it is a long distance, but the astronomers dealing with much larger distance so AU became un useful any more , they using light year , what is light year?, Well light year is is the distance that light travels in vacuum in one year , it is about9.5x1015 which means 9,500,000,000,000 kilometers it is that long , our galaxy (which one of thousands of the galaxies from one galaxy cluster ,and this galaxy cluster is one of many)is a barred spiral galaxy with a diameter between 100,00 and 1890,000 light years , can you imagine ?
Thank you for reading and thanks to @Suesa for this challenge
hope you enjoyed as much as I did

Sort:  

Congratulations @ahmed-elsheref! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool. Love college. Went to four of them. Love the world. Love Milk. Yeah, it is so milky. Yeah, we are ants. I like to be small. I can hide better when I am smaller. Thank you. I'm Doctor Oatmeal Joey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57684.49
ETH 2343.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36