Seed project update

in #succulents6 years ago

So far, the Hoodia gordonii are growing nicely and developing their proper form although they still have their seed leaves so now they have little "heads" on their bodies.

Hoodia gordonii.jpg

The Haworthia decided to germinate after all and although they have been very slow, the germination rate has been pretty good for most of the seeds although there is one batch that did not germinate at all. I sowed the seeds I got from my own plants today so I'll be curious to see how fast they are.

Since I don't work on Tuesdays, today was a general repot and plant tidy up day, and I'm glad I repotted all the plants I got at the show because I found that the Haworthia comptoniana had mealiebugs on the roots so those got sprayed and cleaned off before they spread to the rest of the plants. I think that it was because of 2 things: the plants roots were by now too big for the pot and growing exposed near the hole, as an invitation to those creatures and there was a lot of coarse gravel in the bottom of the pot, which makes it easier for the bugs to get in as well. I thought that the plant was showing signs of stress: although the red colour is pretty, it is a sign of water or heat stress and the leaves aren't properly plump and full of water either.

Of the seeds I got more recently, germination has been very disappointing overall so I won't be buying from that seller again.

Cheiridopsis glomerata.jpg
Cheiridopsis glomerata were the only seeds that did germinate well, they are getting their first true leaves.

adromischus germinated.jpg
The little green dot in the centre of the picture is an Adromischus marianae. I'm excited about this, they are truly alien looking plants.

Pachypodium succuletum seedling.jpg
Only one Pachypodium succulentum seed germinated. It's the same plant as the one with pink flowers that I posted from the show.

Of the others: Pseudolithos, Conophytum, Tylecodon and Euphorbia , there has been no germination and I'm not expecting that there will be. You win some, you lose some. I'm glad I got some of these to grow at least.

Sort:  

These plants have a very original shape. These plants can be admired for a long time. It is just not clear how nature can create such forms of plants.

They are adapted to living in hot, dry climates but yes, the forms are amazing

I am really beautiful I am really in love with these succulents and I also have cactus at home, I have not seen people who love them as I jeje I invite you to follow me and together to know more of them I have just published an article of some seeds of succulents that have grown in a special way I invite you to see it and leave me some advice. @nikv

Good luck with your propagation!

They are so pretty and interesting!!!

Growing from seed is such fun!

@nikv Do you grow these for a business or hobby?

It's a hobby that I want to turn into a business

I have the feeling you would do really well at that.

Thanks, I hope so too. I have to get this work-from-home thing paying better

Cool, have fun and good luck. :-)

Thank you

Very interesting to see these tiny plants starting to grow up.
You have green fingers!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Not always! But I am getting better with succulents

I love your work! I wish I could photography like you. wonderful macro and love the seeds.

Holy shit!!!
They are all incredible..... Makes me want to get my propagation on 😊

Do it!!!

Omg look at those babies! Is it too complicated to grow then from zero?

Not really, you just need suitable light and temperatures and they will germinate. Most people don't grow from seed because they want a fully-grown plant and that takes at least a year or two. Hoodia only flower when they are around 5 years old

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79