Holiday projects, repotting seedlings

in #succulents5 years ago

pachypodium seedlings.jpg

I came home with this little pot of seedlings as an afterthought, I bought them very cheaply last weekend as the seller said that he didn't have time or space to repot them. They are Madagascan Palms or Pachypodium lamerei, not a palm at all but a caudex plant with a spiny trunk. Easy to grow, they are very common in gardens here and they can get to be the size of a tree, with a large bottle-shaped trunk. It's a bit problematic when they are all planted in one pot because pachypodiums dislike having their roots disturbed so although some of them are distinctly dehydrated, I thought it would be better to repot them now than water them and get them in good condition and then go disturbing them.

pachypodium lamerei.jpg

So now I have 12 little pots, the five in the black pots on the right are a bit stunted, their caudexes are dehydrated and they have probably been exposed to too much sun and heat. If I grow them in cooler conditions in semi-shade, they will probably improve. I still have yet to water them, though. When growing succulents, it's important to learn not to automatically water plants that are struggling. It's better to put them in a cooler, less sunny place and start watering slowly until they gradually re-establish themselves.

Hopefully they will all survive and I will sell or swop them in a couple of years' time, once they are larger.

Sort:  

what a wonderful idea. keeping the holidays alive.

Your holidays is good used it's great idea

Lot of work but results rewarding.

Eventually. Succulents are extremely slow-growing

I hope they all survive, and grow big and strong. You are a rescuer of animals and plants.

Not sure how much rescue happens. Sometimes you lose them all

I’m trying to grow a geranium cutting I pinched from someone’s garden on my last walk. Your little babies are in much better hands. ;)

Geraniums are easy and that should boost your confidence

Yup, love geraniums. They are so lovable and will survive me.... lol

Amazing. I did not know that palm trees can be grown with seedlings.
It is a pity that we do not grow palm trees, I would have great pleasure in planting them on my plot of land outside the city. In the summer I often come there to rest.
DSCI6712-1.jpg

We only have plastic palm trees.

Palms are common here

This is amazing! 12 plants from a small pot!

Posted using Partiko iOS

They probably all germinated although that is a bad thing when they get bigger and the roots tangle up

Fine!
I wish you successful cultivation of these beautiful babies!
Good luck !!!
And I'm waiting for photos already grown up!

That will take some time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66936.87
ETH 3079.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66