Growing the Stapeliad family

in #succulents6 years ago

Stapeliads are commonly known as carrion flowers and this particular specimen is Orbea Lutea. This family of plants can be grown outdoors or in a hothouse but never in your house, due to the stinkiness of the flowers, which smell like rotting meat. Most flowers utilise insects for reproduction by offering rewards in the form of pollen or nectar. Stapeliads and orchids are sneaky: they trick insects into pollinating them and give nothing in return. In the case of carrion flowers, the smell is so convincing that flies will walk all over the flower, pollinating it, and in some cases, flies even lay their eggs on the flowers.

orbea lutea.jpg

These plants have no real leaves and are just succulent stems. They tend to grow in the shade of rocks or bushes and do better in partial shade than in full sun although they only flower when the weather is hot. They also need very well-drained soil and like to be watered fairly regularly and quickly rot if conditions aren't to their liking. They are quite easy to grow from seed and I have had some come up in my garden out of nowhere, because the seeds are wind dispersed. I have always found these smelly flowers with their starfish forms particularly fascinating and these are favourites in my garden. When they are blooming, I often find myself wondering what has died nearby, until I see that the flowers are out

Sort:  

looks nice 👍 what are this little black hair on the flower ?
Great post, homegrower 🌴🌴

The little black hairs vibrate in any small breeze and this helps to attracts flies

Inteligent little flowers 😅

They are amazing

That's funny about the smell. They do look like star fish and the colour is vivid.
Can you split these to grow.

Yes, they are very easy to propagate with stem division, that's the most common method. This potful was done that way

Beautiful is your Orbea Lutea!
I also have 4 Stapeliads.
I'm lucky: one of the flowers does not have a smell. And I am happy!
The second has a nasty smell - but if you sniff close. Flies sit on it and once laid eggs - fu ... worms appeared. I took and sprayed the aerosol from the flies, the flies disappeared and the flowers with the plant remained alive.
And the next year there were mantises and started hunting for flies. Aerosol is not needed!
Stapeliads blooms beautifully!

Very sneaky plants, so definitly not a symbiotic relationship from the insects point of view. The thought of having a flower that smells of rotting flesh made me laugh, not the usual smell people go for. Very interesting, I have not seen this succulent before.

I'm surprised people don't grow them in Aus, the conditions would suit them

Hello nikv, congratulations for the well detailed description of your posts.
I also love this genus very much but unfortunately every year i find myself fighting against cochineal and botritis, would you have any advice to give me?
These are my two plants, but above all Orbea decaisdeana give many problems

Hi @cooltivar, Orbea are particularly vulnerable to fungal attack, does it start with circular brownish patches on the stems?
Cochineal and woolly aphids are also major pests of the asclepliads and they attack the roots. My feeling is that there's only prevention for those pests. After you have sanitised the greenhouse by getting rid of all infected parts, look at growing conditions. The problem is either too much water and poorly-draining soil for rot and often, too much sun for pests. I grow all of mine in partial shade, never full sun and they are outside, so humidity is low. Humidity is a big problem in a greenhouse environment, as well as stale air that circulates pathogens

It is extinct, of circular patches... :(
Unfortunately it snowed this year and I had to keep the plants in a cold greenhouse with little air recirculation ...
Thanks for the valuable advice and excuse for my English

You're welcome. They don't like the cold very much, either. Cold and wet causes problems with fungus

What region of the world do these plants grow in normally? I had never heard of this one before reading so I learned something! If they smell so bad why would someone want them in their garden? Sorry if that is an ignorant question, I don't know much about gardening.
Ivy

It is not an ignorant question, you are welcome to ask. They are native to Africa and this particular kind is found in Southern Africa. They are mainly grown by succulent collectors, some of us like quirky plants, I guess. I love the shapes of the flowers

Thanks for the response to my questions! If they are native to Africa that would explain why I have never heard of them, as I am in the US. The shape of the flower is quite unique. Quirky plants is a fun way to describe them =)
Ivy

They are grown in the US by succulent collectors although, as you can imagine, it's a niche activity

Partial shade you are saying... have to move mine from the sunny spot then. Never bloomed for me :(
Those yellow flowers are stunning!

Stapeliad flowers are magnificent. Since you are in Portugal and the climate is mediterranean, they probably are getting too much sun. In nature, they are found growing under bushes or in the shade of rocks so if you have a larger plant that you could place it under, that would be ideal

I have to move it somewhere, it does gets quite a bit of sun now. I have a nice big Jade plant... it will be happy under it :)

That sounds like a good plan

looks like starfish...

I find it interesting that many succulents have the appearance of marine creatures. They originate from areas that were once inland seas

If you like sharing, you will honor me. Thank you.

DQmYH6wC1hhBPiTnbj5Jmp592StZWxBmhLCtttWUgrvN6NL_1680x8400.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00