Growing haworthias - The Retusa family

in #succulents6 years ago (edited)

Although some haworthias are rare and expensive, many aren't and they are also quite easy to grow. This is a selection of some of my little green plants. This is the Retusa genus, named for the leaf shape - Retuse means "having an obtuse or rounded apex with a shallow notch". Retusas are easy to grow, they can handle strong morning sunlight and they enjoy getting quite a bit of water. If they don't get enough light, the rosettes lose their compact shape and the leaves elongate.

Don't ask me why some of my images have turned sideways, probably something to do with Steemit now using a cdn. Ah, well.

haworthia Retusa var acuminata.jpg
Haworthia Retusa var acuminata

haworthia grey ghost.jpg
This is a variegated form of the plant above, Haworthia "Grey Ghost"

Haworthia Retusa var suberecta.jpg
Haworthia Retusa var suberecta

Haworthia retusa var geraldii.jpg
Haworthia Retusa var geraldii

These plants also make interesting hybrids, this is a hybrid of Haworthia Retusa var mutica, which has very compact leaves but in general, crossing plants with Hawothia Retusa will result in larger, faster-growing plants that do make offsets and are easy to propagate; many of the rarer haworthias don't offset and are extremely slow growers

haworthia retusa hybrid.jpg

On the weekend, I made the winning bid for a batch of 6 rare haworthias and they were sent to the courier company today. I should be able to collect them on Wednesday. I'm really looking forward to it and will post them once I have them in my hot, sweaty little hands

Sort:  

There beautiful. Im growing some at the moment and they dont like the cold at all here.

They do slow down when it is really cold. I put them in a sheltered spot and make sure that they don't get too much water

Thats exciting, I look forward to seeing them. I like the grey ghost, its really pretty.

It is a pretty cultivar. I normally don't like variegated plants much but this one looks good to me

It's just interesting that you are fond of such rare plants, save and multiply them for people. It's fine.

Interesting post..... It's nice to learn something interesting once in a while. Can't wait for future update

Reading your posts add value to my knowledge daily.
My Mum is a flower freak, i make clips for her most often via your posts on flowers.

They are very beautiful species

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60441.03
ETH 3344.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48