Enjoying the Titanopsis flowers today

in #succulents5 years ago

titanopsis.jpg

Titanopsis calcarea, locally known as sheep tongue, has always been a favourite mesemb of mine. It's easy to grow and flowers on sunny days after around 1pm. I got this little plant very recently an I was surprised when it started making buds, I thought it was too young to flower. The outer part of the flower, called the calyx, is similarly rough-textured to the leaves.

T. calcarea.jpg

These seldom make seed pods, because like most mesembs, the flowers are not self-fertile: if you look at the flower below, you can see the female parts of the flower sticking out above the male parts, which are tightly closed and unripe.

titanopsis flower.jpg

The pollen will only ripen and become available after the style is no longer receptive so this plant will only form seeds if there is another, different plant flowering nearby and this ensures greater genetic diversity in the seeds. These small flowers are pollinated by small solitary bees.

Sort:  

Oooooh!
Beautiful bloom!
I also have this Titanopsis :-))
I have it recently, so I have no experience in growing it ...
What will your advice be? :-)))

You are back!
They are easy, they need full sun in order to flower so full sun around midday to 3pm. I grow them in an organic mix and they are dormant in summer and grow and flower in winter so I water regularly in winter, not so much in summer but I don't keep them too dry in summer

Thank you very much!
I hope that I do not ruin him!
Before leaving, I had two of them.
On his return, he was left alone :-((

Aw, that's sad!

Yes, especially since this is a rare plant with us

Another gorgeous one.

Yeah, they are all so beautiful

It’s a very nice flower and very informative post. Great job! 👍🏻🙂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you

Ohhhh so pretty :D

Very original flower. Externally similar to a decorative chamomile.

This post has received a 86.02% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @saboin. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Gosh! This looks very primordial!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67653.09
ETH 3789.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50