Buds everywhere, including on Arnold

in #succulents5 years ago

Spring is most certainly in the air

Gymnocalycium Bruchii.jpg
Gymnocalycium Bruchii

I have kept cacti on and off for a long time and killed most of them but this is the first time I am having more success and getting blooms. I think it's because I am able to keep them outside: although cacti often end up inside houses, they don't ever seem to thrive as they do when they are kept outside or at least on a balcony.

Even my tiny Astrophytum is budding, I thought it would be years before I saw any flowers from this one

astrrophytum bud.jpg

Crassula Coralita is going to flower for the first time

crassula coralita.jpg

And then, good old Arnold, the unkillable Phytolacca dioica which is a relative of Pokeweed

arnold2.jpg

I couldn't believe it when I saw this, most of the tree has rotted away after we cut the base down to ground level but I think this section is connected to the original stem of the the tree, so it is time to get out the pickaxe.

arnold.jpg

The holes that look like animal burrows are where the roots have rotted and I took out the compost to use in the vegetable garden, which is finally nearing completion. There will be pictures of that coming soon

Sort:  

I could use some of Arnold in my garden....

Arnold is unfortunately one of those guests that just won't leave... at least I have had some use for him

Mis cactus, siempre quedan en el mismo lugar. Ahora acá, es tiempo de tormentas y llueve muy seguido. Mis cactus tienen tiempo que no florecen. Tiene que ser por tanta agua, que les llega del cielo. Por cierto, te felicito. Están hermosos esos.

It is a great pleasure to see the flowers of rare-blooming cacti. I myself saw only once when a real cactus blooms.

They like strong sun

Congratulations!
Great flowers, beautiful.
Waiting for more photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71