✽ Titanopsis in winter dormancysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #succulent6 years ago (edited)

PC260032.jpg
Titanopsis are small succulent plants, one of those called living rocks.


How to please this unique succulent?


They are winter grower in it's habitat (south Africa) so in cultivation with colder climates they grow in spring and autumn, heading for winter and summer dormancy.
They need to be grown in mineral, porous soil and never to be over-watered. I give them small amount of water (less then many other cacti and succulents) every week from spring to autumn. They like sun, so give them as much sun as I can.


Untitled-1.jpg


Winter dormancy


In winter they should be kept in cool and sunny location. They can tolerate frost to -10/-12 C. Mine are overwintering outside (to -12 C), on a south side of the house, without any water from autumn till spring. And they look healthy and beautiful. I like their winter colors!


Spring is coming soon


....and so are their flowers! They flower easy, every late winter or early spring, in yellow or orange.

34765036806_089ec986cf_o.jpg


Have a nice day! Find some beauty and enjoy :)


IMG_2156g1a1a4a.jpg
@andrijana

Sort:  

Our planet is rich of very customized creatures... like your postings about these flowers. I know the "rose of jericho" (have no picture) in this category. Plants who live in deserts have admiring surviving techniques....
thank you for your posting!

Thank you for stopping by!
I know about the 'rose of jericho'. The same surviving technique has one cacti also: Blossfeldia liliputana --> it can die literally and revive again with the first rain. :) I grow Blossfeldias from seeds (it is one of the hardest plant to grow from seeds, so I'm very proud in succeeding it). They are amazing plants, the desert ones, I'm totally in love in them, have a lot of them...

Fascinating hobby! Keep this!
Nice to meet you on steemit....
A little snowrose from a walk today for you! :)

DSC00557.jpg

:) Thank you! Very a nice of you. Those pure white ones are one of my favorite wildflowers. First time when I saw them I really thought it is snow, then come closer and realized ... oh so many such a beautiful flowers. In highlands of my hometown (Zagreb) there are mostly those purple-green ones. I was surprise finding a white one on highlands nearby Zagreb.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86