How To Become A Whale On Steemit...Advice For The Rest Of Us

in #success7 years ago

How To Become A Whale In Steemit...Advice For The Rest Of Us! (1).png

So you have joined Steemit!

(Congratulations! You are going to love it here.....)

It's an exciting new platform that has the potential to change the internet forever. And with that....A lot of fake promises and myths about what has people so excited....

You may start seeing claims of instant riches, massive payouts and millionaires being made daily....And it doesn't help when you start seeing payouts that some of these posts earn....Daily...

screenshot-steemit.com-2018-01-28-02-09-28-585.png
Untitled design (17).png

And here you are a month or so into Steemit and your paydays from your posts look like this...

screenshot-steemit.com-2018-01-28-02-10-38-561.png
Untitled design (19).png

So much for the early retirement....

It can get frustrating and I think because of these expectations of instant riches you will see a lot of the newer Steemians come and go before they even get started. Maybe it's Steemit's fault, maybe it's the age of entitlement, maybe it's the boogeyman's fault...

Let's blame everyone, it's only fair :)

I know who we can blame...The whales! They are keeping all the money for themselves!!!

Not so fast...

I personally love the whales in Steemit. They paved the way for you and I to be able to even use this platform today. Hey it's not perfect and there's things that will change over time but let's take a look at some strategies I think could work well for the rest of us!

'Whales in the making' will need to;

  • Take our time!

  • Put in the effort!

  • Spend the...Money!

Time! - That's right, spend about 6 months in this community before you write it off and say it's not worth your time. Think about relationships with people in the real world. You just don't meet someone and then 'presto' you guys are BFF's. (Do people still call it BFF's?) It takes time to build relationships and it takes time to grow them. Spend the time WITHIN the community and take part in discussions...Trust me, people will recognize legit contributions to the discussions and you will be rewarded!

Effort! - Create awesome content! Hey I'm not saying what you write should be a Pulitzer, but spend the time to create something that has value. And don't worry all you newbie content creators, it gets easier to write and create the more you do it. Which comes back to the need for 'time' in your formula for Steemit success. Spend the time and the effort to create something that will be talked about, resteemed, upvoted and commented on!

Money! - Wanna know the big secret to creating a path towards becoming a whale? Invest in the platform! Sure if you have tens of thousands of dollars to drop and believe in Steemit, you'll be on your way in no time! But for the rest of us, it means dollar cost averaging our investments. In my case, I buy a few Steem every day or every other day and then Powering Up. I'm in it for the long haul, so this just makes sense. Slow and steady will win the race....

There's a whole lot more I can talk about in my little time here on Steemit, but what I've seen from most successful people in this platform is that they follow those 3 points to build their accounts up.

Spend the time, the effort and the money....You'll see some great results!


UpvoteFollowResteem.png

Sort:  

This post has received a 100% https://UpGoat.com sponsored by @yehey.

Send at least 0.01 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field. To support our daily curation initiative, please delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares.

Lovely.
@Acknowledgement

Hey @jongolson, I really like the idea you're sharing here. But sometime it's hard for minows to get noticed by big users... (just like me
that's why I build a bot providing upvote services on high-quality comments. I can help your comments gain more attention by whales. It's called @growingpower, you can check it out how it works, and maybe give me some advices on how to improve it. I built is to help minows grow faster on steemit.
Let's all keep on the good work and hope one day we can both become big whales lol!

Agreed! And that bot debate is way above my pay grade. I understand the need for it for newer members and I understand how people aren't big fans of it. I think as long as it's not abused, there is big value. Thanks for the comments, I'll take a look!

Thanks for your reply, I'm currently working on a more robust mechanism to prevent some spamming. Glad that you like this idea, really like your posts haha

Appreciate it :) Yeah and that's what is so cool and exciting about Steemit, the potential for creative endeavors like yours. Big future ahead for us all I think :)

Great advice Jon will keep that in my mind moving forward. More people should listen to your advice they would get further ahead faster that way.

Appreciate that man. Dude I'm just spreading what I've learned from the leaders here. They deserve all the credit :)

Thanks for the reminder of constant persistence and stay the course advice, I would expect nothing less from Jon Olson :) upvoted!

Appreciate it homie! Thanks for the support man. Let's see some more Marcus content!!!

I got 19,000 likes on Facebook last year which was nice. But I can't use likes to buy stuff, Do you think Facebook will ever tokenize the like button? I doubt it, Better to Steem good content here and provide good value to the community. "You don't get paid for the work that you do - You get paid for the value you provide". - Jim Rohn. Great post Jon, Thanks for another informative value packed Steem Release.

I agree completely man. Much better investment of my time here!

Great post, thank you.

This whole bot debate is something that I want to get my head around. It seems that many folk who are creating great content in of itself are busy sending sbd to 'minnow booster' etc. Is it naive to think that you can grow your account organically or is it just a fact of life here that you really need to invest in these bots and competitions to have any chance?

Appreciate your thoughts

Thanks for the comments sir. Yeah I mean, I've used bots for content I want people to see and I think while it's a good boost here and there, growing organically (while it may take extra time) is a sure fire way to build a solid foundation.

It's not the quickest way for sure, but I enjoy the journey myself. You get to meet and network with awesome people and grow it the right way.

Nothing personal against upvote bots and like you man, I can't get my head around most of it lol So I'll try to grow this slow and steady :)

Appreciate your detailed comments. Slow and steady for me too I think, although I might experiment in the future.

Completely agree, it's a great community here on steemit. Long may it continue ☺

Very good post. I agree 100%

I promised Steemit a year, and I've seen nothing to slow me down now.

Some genius once told me "Get in line. Stay in line." I've bought into that ever since. I'm in line for a fact.

Thanks Jon. I really appreciate what you do.

Ha ha ha ha... More like 'let's throw things against a wall and see what works' ....Not sure if that's genius or just plain....Luck LOL

Thanks man, I appreciate the comments very much!

"Spend the time and the effort to create something that will be talked about, resteemed, upvoted and commented on!" - this single sentence wrap it up all. its the true contribution you put into the platform that matters the most.

100000% agree! Make something worth talking about and then let the stars falls where they may. :) Thanks for the comments!

I plan on giving steemit a few months at least. So far I like it and impressed. It just depends on what they do to continue improving the platform.

Oh just wait, they've got massive things coming up! Steemit is about to become the talk of the net me thinks ;)

This post has received a 5.22% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

To support our daily curation initiative, please donate 1 SBD or delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one fo the following links: 10 SP, 50 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP, 5000 SP.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Wonderful post jongolson!!! I have been thinking about the same thing. I have been here only for a couple of days, however, I can still see the fact and logic in your post!

Question.. Does buying steem really help in earning more?

I do intend to be here, and try it out for a few months. However, I would like to do it together with a few more like minded people like you!

Do let me know if you would like to form a team, obviously with many more people, so that we can succeed together!!!

Upvoted your post 100% and followed you. Do follow me back if you like! All the very best my friend!!!

I have resteemed your post as well!

Oh I think its critical. I plan on investing to get to 5000 Steem Power this year. I believe in the platform so for me it just makes sense. No guarantees if you are looking for income or anything...But investing in something I believe in is a simple thing for me to do :)

Thanks very much for the comments!

Agreed my friend, it makes total sense! All the very best, and I am sure you will do it!

Side thought - 5KSP would mean an investment of $30k? Is my understanding correct here?

Pretty much, depends on the exchange rate etc. But it's not all purchased. You can earn it as well for creating great content :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74