Ego is the enemy

in #success7 years ago

ego enemy

“Greatness comes from humble beginnings; it comes from grunt work. It means you’re the least important person in the room—until you change that with results.” ~ Ryan Holiday, Ego is the Enemy.

This is a book I wish I had read 20 years ago. This is a book I wish I read every year for the past 20 years. This is a book that could benefit every single planet, and if I had enough money I would buy a copy for every one of you.

Since I haven’t taken meticulous notes while reading it, we’ll have to suffice with a few quotes. I can, however, open up a bit and let you know a little bit more about myself. I was one of those kids they always said had “potential”. Of course, I hated it, and if you were one of those kids too, then you know what I’m talking about. I never fit in, was always getting in trouble. It wasn’t because I’m a trouble maker, I just didn’t know how to get along with people. I was a smart, talented kid, without a clue of how to get along in the world.

So, I got bullied a lot. People made fun of me all of the time. Teachers didn’t like me, class-mates didn’t like me. Some of them even… well, whatever. Lets not go down that road just now. I remember one time walking home from school thinking “just wait till they find out I’m like Einstein, then they’ll wish they were nice to me.” That was a beginning to my downfall.

For kids that don’t fit in, or don’t get along, there’s no one to teach them how. Even though social skills are a major factor in how well someone will succeed in any area they choose, there is still no one to teach us how to be if we don’t know it. Our parents don’t know how to help us. It’s a sink or swim world as far as those things go.

The result is I began to create a world in my mind, in which, I, was very important. And no matter where I went in life after that, no matter what success I found, there was my ego to help me destroy it.

“Why is success so ephemeral? Ego shortens it. Whether a collapse is dramatic or a slow erosion, it’s always possible and often unnecessary. We stop learning, we stop listening, and we lose our grasp on what matters. We become victims of ourselves and the competition. Sobriety, open-mindedness, organization, and purpose – these are the great stabilizers. They balance out the ego and pride that comes with achievement and recognition.”

This book is great for anyone who wants to find success, and retain it. If you live a simple life, enjoy it, and don’t have any big dreams, then this book might not be for you. This is a book for everyone who dreams BIG, wants to get there, and wants to keep it once they’ve gotten there.

“Every time you sit down to work, remind yourself: I am delaying gratification by doing this. I am passing the marshmallow test. I am earning what my ambition burns for. I am making an investment in myself instead of in my ego. Give yourself a little credit for this choice, but not so much, because you’ve got to get back to the task at hand: practicing, working, improving.”

“ego is the enemy of what you want and of what you have: Of mastering a craft. Of real creative insight. Of working well with others. Of building loyalty and support. Of longevity. Of repeating and retaining your success. It repulses advantages and opportunities. It’s a magnet for enemies and errors. It is Scylla and Charybdis.” Ryan Holiday, Ego is the Enemy

I’ve linked his website and the website for his book.

Also, for anyone who has made it this far, I do plan to do more research articles, but I’ve been on the road this past few days and haven’t had 8 hours to spare to work out something solid. That’s why I decided to share a few quotes, and open up a bit more about myself. I hope you check the book out.

If you aren’t much of a reader he’s done a number of podcast interviews where you can hear him speak on the subject.

For simplicity, I’ll leave this youtube video for you to check out, if you please.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by inquiringtimes from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43