Tips from Bill Gates-rules you will never learn in school

in #success7 years ago (edited)

So, today I'm going to teach you how to be successful.

Am I going to be sharing my personal experiences with you guys? Of course not, I don't know the first thing about success. (I've literally been couch surfing since last week Saturday... Still can't find my hairbrush). Anyways, Bill Gates does know one or two things about being successful and here are a few tips which he recently shared. These are the types of lessons which they don't teach you at school, which is annoying, because I have never used anything that I learnt from school. So maybe they should be teaching this to the next generation. Subject: LIFE 101.

Oh by the way, if you want to check out the video for yourself, just click here:
Bill Gates video

The only reason why this photo is here is because I was on TV a few weeks ago and I truly feel incredibly proud. We all have our own little versions and stories when it comes to success. Don't stop trying, you'll get there.
18922121_1882193861997531_1340670388337837944_n.jpg

Okay I just have to add one more- this was the opening night of the show I was on, it's called Tyd met Aleit. I will expand on this project some other time, but in the meantime if you want to check it out go to:
Tyd met Aleit
17796005_586226414911727_2373565845526915514_n.jpg

Lesson number 1: Life's not fair. Get used to it.

Stop expecting life to hand you things which you think you deserve. This might sound a little bit harsh but it's true. You have to work hard for what you want- and even if you do, shit still happens. Sorry mate.

Lesson number 2: The World doesn't care about your self-esteem.

Okay, this one sounds even more harsh. Ouchies. I guess my comment is: work on yourself, every single day. Make something of yourself. You will get rejected a few times but keep on going!

Lesson number 3: You will not make a six figure salary right after you leave school.

When I was growing up, my dad always said "Darling, the only job you start at the top, is when you dig a hole." As frustrating as this is, since all I want to do is buy a one way ticket to Bali and live in total luxury- good things take time.

Lesson number 4: If you think your teacher is tough, wait till you meet the boss.

Put on some heels, slap on that confidence, and whatever you do- DO NOT CRY in the bathroom stalls. When I was a waitress in December, I would occasionally just go sit in a bathroom stall and cry. One day the boss found me. Look to be honest- it's normal to have these emotions, but don't take things personally. Everybody just saw me as a big softie and it sucked. It's not personal- they just want you to get the job done.

Lesson number 5: Flipping burgers is not beneath your dignity.

So being a waitress was a bit embarrassing, especially since many of my friends already work at Law firms. However, swallow your pride. I made so much money in such a short amount of time that I booked my ticket to Mexico in January. Totally worth it.

Lesson number 6: If you mess up, it's not your parent's fault.

Don't blame them just because you didn't attend a private school. Big whoop. Your grade 10 results won't really count for anything in the bigger picture.

Lesson number 7: Life is not divided into semesters.

Okay so I really dig this one. In high-school and university, life was bearable because there was always a holiday around the corner. However, in real life, it just goes on and on. So do something which is worth spending your time on, do something which sets your soul on fire. Personally, I am completely obsessed with events management- I'm happy to dedicate my professional life to it.

Lesson number 8: What you see on television is night real life.

I know, I also want the perfect job where I work in a little cafe which overlooks Italy and I come home every day at a reasonable time, only to find my husband cooking dinner with some soft Jazz in the background...but, we have to realize that careers take work, relationships take work, not everything will be perfect every single day.

Lesson number 9: Be nice to nerds, chances are you'll end up working for one.

Sort:  

While I appreciate the advice and your blog post... I have seen this floating around the web a time, or 2, or 3, or 4. ;)

Those are some important tips to young people who are getting started in life. Thank you for sharing

Nice to see you got an upvote from @curie. I submitted your post to them because I liked it :) Am now following you too so keep steeming:)

What a brilliantly written article, love the touch of humor you add in your blogs.

Thank you so much @dewallenband ! Love your page!

Your dad sounds like a clever guy Caitlin. Good advice. Bill Gates knows how to make a buck or two.
I heard that he is leaving nothing to his kids. Now that is a great idea.
Congrats on the number one spot on the hit parade. @capetowngirl
I'm your wingman from now on lol
Great article resteemed and upvoted.

hahaha nice tips @captowngirl...

thanks for upvote me my post...i als o follow u and upvoted u and i will always upvote u for more connected with u

Congratulations @capetowngirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What kind of editor are you using? How did you "center" things?

You can use <center> Your content here </center>


here is some centered text

I tell ya, finding a good editor is not easy, so I appreciate this. Thanks!!!

No problem man

Hey @Capetowngirl , I am starting a podcast where I interview fellow entrepreneurs. Would you be interested in the appearing on the inaugural episodes?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92