Borna Zuber- The Introduction-my entry to Steem and the decentralized social media world

in #success6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone, this is my short introduction to my life and what I’ve done so far, hope you like the story and stay tuned for more.

IMG_7029.JPG

Well I’m from Croatia, small country in southeastern Europe. Grew up in a small village and moved to the main city Zagreb when I started going to high school. I was always good with languages so I decided to go to a language school, it was ok, but I didn’t fit in perfectly there; most people were from the city so for me being a village boy made ma a bit of an outsider. Although I had friends and all I kinda felt lonely and incomplete and unhappy. I started my trash metal phase; I let my hair grow long, dressed all in black and drank a lot with my friends in parks talking about life. At the end of high school most people were happy around me, I was kinda lost because I wasn’t sure 100% where to go with my life, also got dumped that summer.

That year I started college and that was a big change for me because I look at it as my third big plateau in life, first one being elementary school, second being high school and third being college. I studied hotel management and tourism and there I met some great people that are my friends till this day. From high school I maybe hang out with 3-4 people. During college I started my fastest and most deliberate development yes. I discovered self development , more specifically I stumbled upon Tony Robbins. Don’t know if you heard about him but if You haven’t I would highly recommend his work as a tool to get Your life together and far beyond that. I started implementing the thing I leaned and kept expanding my knowledge and came to the conclusion that I will have to put a lot of work into developing my career. I learned that most people actually don’t want to work, so if I would want to work I would have and advantage. Which turned out to be true and I decided to get myself a real job. During college we had the option for people who worked to be a so called part-time student where you had all the benefits as other students, had to come to all the exams but You were permitted to attend only 25% of the curriculum. So I looked for a job and a great opportunity came my way where a new Hilton hotel was being opened in Zagreb and being motivated as I was, I applied immediately. A lot of people applied for the job in that hotel, but I got it thanks to a lot of preparation because I had no previous working experience to brag with, and so I started working at the reception. Here began my fourth plateau-the level of a real job. The hotel was real nice and fancy, a lot of business people were our guests and I loved every single interaction with someone in a suit. In that hotel I learned I really loved people and it became a regular habit for me to interact constantly with new people. I got to know different cultures and world views, the job allowed me to watch the behavior, language and demeanor. I fell in love with the sales department and the people working there doing a great job selling our hotel rooms to clients. I made a decision based on the premise that if I could sell more than You I would get a better job or position than my competition, that I would work in sales and impact the amount of money I earned. After getting rejected from the sales department in that hotel I devoted 2016 to learning sales skill because I obviously lacked the necessary skills and experience. After doing sales for about a year I ended up in a real estate company which was my favorite version of sales up until then. I decided than that I would do something with these knowledge, but I didn’t like the company I worked for so I switched again into a different field which was human resource. I moved into a relatively small company with a few offices in different countries employing people across the border where they could earn a lot more than Croatia. I ended up working there replacing the HR manager and after doing the job for a few months I got the hang of the paperwork and started organizing the company a little bit. Their main problem was that most people working in that company were old and bad at communicating with each other. After a year of working in that company I felt like I couldn’t work there anymore being annoyed by the negativity of the people surrounding me there; but please don’t get me wrong it wasn’t just that.

My fifth plateau began this summer when I started working on the island of Hvar in Croatia as a “sales manager” for a small tourist agency. I was basically renting out cars and bikes which was actually a 4 month holiday for me compared to the other jobs I did earlier. In the last 5 years I really gave it my all to improve myself as much as I can, took hardly any vacations and focused most of my energy on self development and my career. I felt like I grew a lot during these last 5 ears in every aspect and coming to jobs and working for people that didn’t know the basics of business, or ethics or didn’t know how to solve problems or use modern social media to help them, or just got plain scared of making a move, it all kinda wore me out. A lot of my time and energy was wasted on trying to convince people to do as I told them, but You can imagine how that turned out. People usually don’t want to listen to you if you are not in a dominant position or if you don’t have some emotional connection to you. So for a kid telling an old boss how to do things hurt their egos and most of my ideas and suggestions crashed like waves on a rock. I didn’t loose confidence or the will, I just didn’t want to waste any more time working for people who run their small business in a wrong way.
Hvar was a leisure decision so I took my time at the beach and did a lot more self improvement, but in a relaxed way. I added swimming, diving and meditation to the daily routine and the job was easy going and relaxed. It did me good to rest and learn some new things about life. I spent a lot of time listening to motivational speakers and I started to listen to 2 hours a day of Gary Veynercuk. Don’t know if you heard about him but he is a serial entrepreneur and social media influencer, in my opinion the best in the world and he convinced me to double down on my social media game, so I will start blogging regularly and I’ll start Vlogging also.

My sixth plateau is happening right now as I returned from Hvar and decide to move with my girlfriend to Ireland and start working there. The idea is to earn more money in a shorter time and than invest that money into my apartment in Zagreb(its really old and needs renovating) so I can rent it out and come back into the real estate business again. During this plateau I will be very active on social media and got more attention from people; I will collect enough money to renovate my apartment and I will try to learn as much as I can about the real estate market here in Ireland so I can draw on that knowledge and experience back in Croatia.

I hope You liked my story so far, thank You for taking the time to read through and I hope that you will stay tuned for more!

If you would like to support me in my endeavor please follow me on Steem and up-wote my material because I believe this channel will have a lot of interesting and useful information for a lot of people.

IMG_6425.JPG

You can also follow me on:

Facebook: Borna Zuber
Instagram: zuber_borna
Twitter: @BornaZuber
Linkedin: Borna Zuber
Snapchat: bornazuber

Sort:  

Welcome bornazuber!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience here. We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Wow, you really laid out your whole life story in here! :-D
Nice post... and good luck with your future endeavours.

PS: I've found your post because @amazingwoman featured you in her entry for Pay It Forward Contest

Thanks man, really gave it some thought but i will post more step by step. I basically started this because i have a feeling that i have a lot to say but don't get to say it during a coffee or telephone conversation :)

And of course thanks to @amazingwoman for the promo ;)

Welcome to Steemit @bornazuber !! You have accomplished something many of us haven't. Finding ourselves. You're off to a great start! I look forward to seeing what you accomplish. If you ever need help, never hesitate to ask.

You were featured in week 34 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @amazingwoman.

Thanks @tryskele il do my best and keep posting so stay tuned ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41