Suburban Addict - Awareness

sief-hamza_fb004_650.jpg

I've always been curious whether or not our addictive tendencies existed before addiction. If yes, then to what extent, and were they as strong as they are now?

I believe they've always been there, maybe not as strong or noticeable as now, but I think we've all enjoyed the sense of reward and comfort certain moments can provide. Our addictive minds go far beyond these end results though, into a layered web of complex reasoning that we'll never master or fully understand. The true objective is to grow our awareness. Awareness of our surroundings and vulnerabilities that lie in the darkness, waiting to trip us up. A friend once said that it's not our addiction we must fear, but the experiences in life that can lead us back to it. I think after I first heard this, I immediately began to envision what those events could be for myself, and more importantly how I could avoid them. Over time though I've realized avoidance is simply not an option, and that life will present these challenges whether I feel I'm ready or not.

So what are some of the addictive tendencies you're already aware of? Can you envision the challenges life may bring, and how you will respond?

Instant gratification is one I must always be in-tune to. For as long as I can remember, I've always lived life looking for the next best adventure or experience to bring me joy. Once I find it, I'll soak it up until there is nothing left to absorb…at least from what it can provide in the short term. Food, music, girls (GIRLS!), and of course now, drugs. All of these areas I'll continue to explore like a bee, flying around from one flower to the next in search of the ultimate high. Sometimes I like to blame it on the world we grew up in though, filled with all of the temptations and desires most of us will never achieve because of our need for "more".

How this can be controlled rests with our practice of limiting what we enjoy. Doing things in moderation isn't always easy, but it should at least be practiced on the more simple things in life in preparation for those greater. Remember, it's our routines that will produce the emotions we desire. Right now our emotions tie to the old routines we continuously engage in, so to begin a new routine means creating a new emotion, and in essence changing the chemical makeup of our decision-making.

Now I believe there are fine lines between where this should and should not be applied. For one, sometimes obsession is the very thing that can lead us down paths to greatness. My point here though is just to be aware of the possibility that things can get old, and in a rather short period of time depending on how deep you dive in. This is not to steer anyone away from their dreams, or muzzle their passion for new areas of discovery…but rather to remind us of the fact that nothing in life is forever. So if you have found a new path or direction in life to move in, take it in stride as tomorrow may open new doors. Your awareness of your surroundings while in exploration is the key to becoming the master of your journey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35