You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Subcultures and Social Trends: Real Vampires – The Daywalkers and Undead Among Us

in #subculture8 years ago

Anton LaVey didn't author the satanic verses, and the psychic vampire he refers to is not the same as what you are talking about.

In Satanism, a psychic vampire is an individual who creates feelings of debt and guilt in others and "drains" them by manipulating them into feeling like they owe this individual something. A psychic vampire is not something you want to label yourself as, it is not a compliment and LaVey talks about driving a metaphorical stake through the vampire's heart by simply accepting their gifts without accepting any sense of obligation to that person in return.

I have met many psychic vampires in life, so have you - everyone has. Anton LaVey simply gave this type of person a name and addressed how to deal with them.

What is closer is the concept of the vampire from ToV (Temple of Vampire) - a group whose central doctrine is "within lies fact and fancy" and encourages people to test before belief - for that reason there are a lot of Satanists who are also ToV members. I am not a member myself however, I believe that the ToV's style is too supernatural for me to be able to get involved as I consider myself a man of science. I do encourage anyone with an interest to look into them though - in particular, the "dayside" has a lot to recommend.
On the "nightside" they deal with the kind of energy vampirism you refer to in your post and suggest a "test it and see if it works" approach to this kind of feeding. For myself I believe this sort of feeding works but only as a form of psychological manipulation of the self like all forms of greater magic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62