"Another Person's Judgement of your Lifestyle or Passions Says More About Them than You"

in #stupidity7 years ago (edited)

I ran into something I hate with a passion as a quote on someone's Instagram picture: "Another person's judgement of your lifestyle or passions says more about them than you".

Oh, really?

Well, what if your passion is slaughtering two year olds? Am I not allowed to judge? Does me judging you make a worse person than you, when you're killing children?

To put this into another context, I made this:

See now how that "wisdom"makes absolutely no sense?

Of course we need to judge bad and stupid people; that's the necessary disincentive to being a bad, or stupid person.

Thankfully, the Instagram chick wasn't even that hot.

Sort:  

I've always had a problem with this type of lessons of life or wisdom memes. The reason being most, if not all of them, use second person pronouns. Kind of like: ''You should do that, so that you could be more of that''. This generally adopted style suggests that it's a universal truth & superior way of life, but for all others except the poster, who I guess we should understand has already mastered the philosophy proposed.

I believe true wisdom lies in leading by example, not telling others what to do. So here is how I would change the wording on that New-Agey meme so that it can be more genuine in being what it truly is, meaning merely the poster's opinion :

''Judgement of my lifestyle or passions tells me more about the person who judges than me.''

It doesn't make it more truthful, it simply reveals it for what it really is: the person posting p.o.v.

😂 bahaha

I hate the one that gets misused like most of the time from Marilyn Monroe, something along the lines of "if you can't handle me at my worst, you don't deserve me at my best".

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.55 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 26 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87