Tree/Art Studies

in #study7 years ago (edited)

Hello guys!
Here are some studies I've done. I'm not amazing at drawing from my imagination, so my goal is to do little by little everyday studying different things, free hand. These references are usually from google image search. Unfortunately I can't reference the photographers. (The reference will always be on the Left, my study on the Right)

The purpose of these sketches are to learn. My eventual goal is to create a webcomic. There will be lots of giant trees, roots and ruins, and so these sketches are all studies to get my hand and brain used to the right shapes and how to create backgrounds/environments. This way, when I create my own work, I won't have to rely on other people's photos.

For this study I used a tone background, it makes drawing a white and black sketch a lot faster! :)

170504 Study Tree Ruins 1h process1.jpg

170504 Study Tree Ruins 1h process2.jpg

170504 Study Tree Ruins 1h process3.jpg

When I study from photos, I aim to spend 30m - 1 hour. My goal as an artist isn't to be a printer (reproducing work/photos that already exists). I go to the rough stages, capturing what I feel I need to, and then I put it away, and start something else. I only spend hours and hours rendering something which I feel is my own personal work.

170502 Study Big Tree 1h.jpg

By doing a little everyday, my hope is I will become much faster at sketching and painting, and broaden my visual library of things.

170305 studies.jpg

Feel free to drop a comment, feedback, suggestions, requests, they are all welcome! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30