NEW ALBUM: DEMO00 // Cleaning our Studio // Timelapse VIDEO

in #studio6 years ago


New month, new home, new album, new decisions, new me.
So, my band Seine decided to record a demo of our upcoming album. We're still working on it, making songs, debating life, etc. And we figured that it's best to record it and play around with it on our computer.
But, when when we came into our studio, we noticed that things are a bit chaotic, and decided to refresh things a bit.
It's best to do things right from the beginning - even tho' we're used to fixing things (in the mix), if we have the time to do a proper setup, we'll save a lot nerves later-on.


I decided to record the video of it
The three main characters involved were @grobens, @bonvivan, and me.

We unplugged all the cables, removed the microphones, removed the drums and the amps, and folded down all the stands.
Basically, we wanted to have a fresh start, and do things right.

We tried a different position for the drums - in the corner of the room.
Even tho' i thought that it will emphasize the LOW-END of the spectrum, it didn't work as good as we expected. The walls are bare and untreated, so the HIGHs we're all over the place - the cymbals and the snare was bright, and the kick had a strange punch in it. The low's weren't so present at all. I guess our bass traps work cool. ;)

But as we returned the drums to the middle of the room, we moved the kick around a bit until we felt a big "UMPH" in our chest. The lows were really building up, which can work great with low tunings. The snare had a really cool dark punch, and even the cymbals sounded richer. The whole space is really strange, somewhere the standing-waves work like a charm, and sometimes they compress all of the sound.
But I guess we found the right spot.


After that, me and @grobens started repairing the floor tom and tuning it.
The holder that connects the stand to the body of the floor tom was completely free, and we searched for an adequate screw to fix it. After some time I found an old rack tom from my old Sonor kit, and removed the screw that holds the tom holder, it was the same diameter as the one on the Premiere kit.

I guess there is a standard for that sort of stuff, and that really makes me happy.


One more paranormal side-effect that we noticed is when you hit the floor tom. It has sort of a metal ring to it. While recording a couple of years back i fixed a similar problem by putting something floating inside the body of the floor tom, between the heads. Probably because of the shape and the diameter of the tom, some highs multiple and create a sort of a fast slap-back phasing effect - I think it's called The Flutter effect.
Luckily we fixed it.

After that we tuned the drums a bit and set up the microphones, but in the meantime, my HARD DRIVE DIED!
The computer just restarted and wouldn't boot.
It wrote "A disk read error" and refused to collaborate.
After that it wrote "BOOTMGR is missing".

Absolutely crazy.
I guess The Cosmos want's a complete refresh.
Unfortunately, the hard drive that died (I guess) is the one with the OS running, and with all my projects and stuff I've been working on.
Fortunately, I've backed-up most of my stuff before, and finished all of the projects at the beginning of the week.
Now, I have to do some diagnostics and probably buy some new gear to be able to record.
But, whatever, somehow we'll manage.

If there's any luck we'll start recording by next week, and I'll keep you updated with the progress.
I'll try to document as much of the info from all the stages - GAIN STAGING, PRE-EQ, TRACKING, MIC PLACEMENT and other stuff.
Hopefully you'll find it interesting and comment and help us out in some way :)

Thanks for watching and reading!
Cheers!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Funny bro ( I mean not so funny) , because the same thing happened to me last years and I lost at least 2 or 3 years of work with the hard drive. As you say see it as a sign to start afresh!

The TIme lapse looks great and the music fits :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30