What organization should you join in as a student?

"Never let schooling interfere with your education" -  Mark Twain

Going outside the corners of the classroom can teach you much more than the education forced in your system.

Join an organization that'll let you have an experience and don't just go and settle for one group, expand your network and join as many organization you can so long as you learn and keep growing as a person in every group you join in. I myself have joined in many groups. 

The first one is the Honor Society of Mapua which was the prestigious group of scholars in our institution. Next was the Mountaineering Club, I wasn't the adventurous type before but joining the Mountaineering Club was an experience, something that made my world changed forever, and now because of them I'm the type who thirst for adventure. I also joined the Student Council because why not? I won't wait for opportunities, I'll be the one to make my own opportunities. Being part of the student council was what made me shine as a student leader, and for that I'll always have a heart to lead and organize.

Me holding the key that represents the responsibility of being the President of the Central Student Council of Mapua


How I wished to have joined more organizations that can help me learn more like those who focus on music, theater and dancing, but being a student should be focused on subjects you enroll in and not so much on organizations you join in.

Others might say that joining in school organizations is a bother to the academic standards one might acquire but for me ‘twas one of the best decisions I’ve done in my life. But of course having this “best” decision has its own setbacks,  like setting aside studying for priorities you can’t manage when it can be avoided through proper time management and of course the right mindset. But even after failures I stand by these words said by my Professor “There is no such thing as success denied, only success delayed”,  rather than punishing yourself keep in mind that they are experiences you learn from that can help you leap from your comfort zone so you can better challenge yourself in goals that you set. 

It is fun not having to go by the rules all the time because often times those who wander are the ones who are not lost, we’re usually the ones who take risks to go beyond on what is to be expected. Learn from every experience you learn from your organization, and always strive to be the best person you can be. You can walk faster towards a goal on your own efforts but having to walk towards a goal with your beloved group makes everything worthwhile.

Sort:  

Congratulations @alfredsilisilon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yay! Thank you :) Looking forward for more rewards :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68916.78
ETH 3733.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73