Possible scam

in #strimi6 years ago

Just as a word of warning. Today I had a phone from someone who was claiming that he is a TalkTalk technician, he was trying to convince me that my IP address was compromised and used for illegal activity in several countries across the world.

THAT WAS A SCAM CALL!!!!
How did I new that that was scam?
First of all IP address is always visible and therefore it's impossible to compromise your IP address.
Second - when I said to that guy that I'm an IT he hang out with very nice farewell ( He said and i'm quoting "Fuck You!")
That guy was trying to talk me to do some changes in my computer, through command line and also he was telling me that my router will be replaced free of charge, so my IP will be secured.
After that conversation I phoned talktalk to verify if there was any phone call from them regarding security issues, there was none.
So, to conclude.
Please be aware that yours IP CANNOT!!! be compromised because it's always visible, if there would any security breach in your account talktalk would phone you( i'm pretty sure other internet service providers too) and ask you some verification question,before starting any procedures, that shady guy dind't ask me any verification questions.
This type of attack can be used not only with TalkTalk users, because it's universal, using this type of social techniques to convince unaware users to make harmful changes in theirs computers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58