What’s More Important for Weight Loss, Diet or Exercise?

in #strength5 years ago (edited)

When you set your goal to lose weight fast, you need to know the importance of Diet vrs Exercise.

So what’s more important for weight loss, diet or exercise? 

This is the million dollar question.

This is a question Personal Trainers get all the time, it’s not as simple as saying diet is more important than exercise or exercise is more important than diet. 

There is more to it.So before I start I will introduce myself and tell you why I have chosen to write an article on weight loss after being in the Strength and Conditioning business for over 20 years. My name is Steve Thompson, founder of Getstrength.com, we were established back in 2001. You can read about us here.

Let’s get back to the subject: Diet Or Exercise: Which Is More Important?I was talking to a complete stranger the other day, he asked me what I did for a living. I explained I had an online business we manufactured strength equipment and provide free education for the Strength and Conditioning community. He then asked what made me get into this business. I then went on to explain my background in Powerlifting and my many years as a personal trainer.


The conversation then took a quick turn around to how this man had started going to the gym to lose weight. He was struggling with the routine of going to the gym 3-4 times per week.

I also noticed he had just finished a meat pie. 

 So I then said to him “So what’s more important diet or exercise?” He looked at me with a blank look on his face “what do you mean?” 

 Exactly that, miss a gym session but eat healthily that day or eat an unhealthy takeaway instead of sticking to your diet but go to the gym after. He told me he could eat rubbish food but as long as he went to the gym he would lose weight. 

Wrong! 

 The answer is really both,  Sorry to break it to you, but diet and training go hand in hand. 

 Look at this way, technically the answer should be diet, the damage of eating a bad meal out ways the benefits of a training session. 

 But………… I use to explain it to my clients like this, look it as a wheel or pie graph. The pie is your goal ” weight loss ” 80% of the pie is made up of diet, 20% is made up of fitness/weight training gym sessions for the wheel to go around the 80% needs 20% to make a circle. 

 Just to throw a spanner into the works, here is another opinion on the matter in this short video. 



 Everything comes down to mindset and the mind-body benefits. Eating well and training smart will help you achieve your body goals faster – and more easily – than focusing solely on diet or exerciseEat well and train smart. Fail to prepare and you prepare to fail. This is only my opinion but after spending 25 years in the fitness industry and training 1000’s of clients to achieve their goals I know what I’m talking about.In my next article in my new Weight Loss Category, I will elaborate on the above comment  Fail to prepare and you prepare to fail

Steve Thompson

Getstrength.com

Sort:  

Congratulations @tradersnz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @tradersnz! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11