Incline Bench Pressed 245lb

in #strength2 years ago

Incline Bench has been the one lift that I'm pretty close to my lifetime max on. My all time max was 255lb in early 2020.

I went to the doctor yesterday regarding my knee surgery and he said something very interesting which changed my thought process slightly.

So with my bicep tendon tear it has been frustrating because I do have PTSD on a lot of lifts. I don't want to push too hard and reinjure it. That would be terrible so a lot of times I'm trying to do more reps at lower weights which is fine in some respects but in other respects I need that explosive power on weight over my body weight.

The doctor basically said he doesn't think I should try to get up to the amounts I was previously doing until a year after the surgery.

He also said there is a lot of evidence that shows on these connective tissue repairs it takes 18 months to fully heal.

That shocked me but I'm not surprised.

With the distal bicep tendon repair it was initially anchored by a hole being drilled into my radius bone and a kevlar thread being sewn into my tendon and anchored into place. That hardware alone isn't strong enough to hold everything together. The tendon starts to regrow to the bone. The hardware is never removed but the tendon has to naturally regrow to the bone to regain strength.

I'm going to really have to pick and choose my battles as to what is important and what I need to be strong on.

In a little less than two month I need to be dialed in to pitch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73