Street Photography: meet Cumil the Sewer Worker, iconic sculpture of Bratislava, Slovakia

in #streetphotography6 years ago (edited)

When searching for an entry for today´s #streetphotography contests organized by @juliank and @photocontests, I stumbled on these shots that I took in Bratislava, the capital of Slovakia, some time ago.

IMG_20150501_163534.jpg
Click on the image for full view

Found in the historic center of Bratislava, this bronze sculpture of a sewer worker peeping out of a manhole is one of the most popular tourist attractions of the city.

IMG_20150501_163554.jpg
Click on the image for full view

There is a whole bunch of names this bizarre sculpture is referred to as, including the Peeper, the Gazer, the Man at Work, the Watcher, the Peeping Tom etc. but the locals usually call him “Cumil”.

IMG_20150501_163407.jpg
Click on the image for full view

Created by a renowned Slovakian artist Viktor Hulik in 1997, the sculpture has been the subject of ongoing debates since there are several theories as to what the cheeky guy is actually doing. Some say he is just taking a rest after working hard in the sewer while others suspect him of looking under women´s skirts.

No matter what Cumil really does on that street in central Bratislava, he definitely is one of the most important characters of the city and you simply cannot leave the Slovakian capital without taking a photo with him.


Czech / Česky:
Dnes vás ve svém cestopisném okénku vezmu na návštěvu k našim východním bratrům (tímto také zdravím všechny nové slovenské členy naší komunity :) Bratislavou jsem v minulosti mnohokrát projížděl, ale poprvé jsem si toto krásné město pořádně prohlédl teprve před pár lety.
Nedílnou současí historického centra Bratislavy je i tato socha, které místní říkají Čumil. Je to umělecké dílo slavného slovenského sochaře Viktora Hulíka, který však o osudu této netradiční postavy nic bližšího neuvedl, takže je na každém návštěvníkovi, aby si k ní svůj příběh vymyslel sám.
Podle některých se tak jedná o obyčejného čističe kanalizace, který odpočívá po těžkém dni, zatímco jiní mají Čumila za mazaného šmíráka, jenž ze svého úkrytu kouká ženám pod sukně :)

Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

That's a funny sculpture.

Hope to be able to visit the place some time in my life...

Hi thanks for the comment :) I can see you are from Mexico - I am currently living in your country and I love it! :)

Really?

Cool. And were are you living?. I live on Hidalgo. Maybe we could see each other on a meeting of the community on the future or if some day you need something don't hesitate asking for it.

Thanks, we live in Playa del Carmen on Riviera Maya :) Let me know if there is a Steemit meeting around here :)

Cool shots! I hate to say this, but I was there too! ;)

Well, I was secretly hoping that Slovakia might be one of those very few countries that I have been to and you havent... Nope... :( :D

Hi Donica, and how did you like Bratislava? Its my capital city, but I dont like it at all..uf.. @itchyfeetdonica

It's not as charming as Prague, but since everything was new to me, I still had fun! There were so many beautiful girls there. :)

Musím bohužel souhlasit..při mé cestě jsem byl vážně překvapen, jak tam nic není...je tedy asi fakt, že ve srovnání s Prahou, to má pak kdejaké místo těžké..ale tohle mi přišlo až etrémní. Je to už docela hodně let, tak možná se to od té doby zlepšilo..

What a fun sculpture. He matches your picture in the swimming pool. 😁

Haha you are right! I didnt even realize it :D

Haha, that's a cool sculpture! Isn't it a little bit dangerous to have it in the middle of the street? I mean people can stumble on it?

Good point, I think thats why they installed this sign next to it :D

Ah, I see! :)

Ten je boží, vídám ho snad u každého, kdo navštíví Bratislavu a těším se až ho taky potkám a dám s ním fotku :))

It is very interesting and funny that sculpture ...🤣😄😂 I like ...👍

Haha, thanks :))

WOW!!!! These are some of the MOST Amazing and Cool photos I have seen!!!
Big Love Petr ❤ ❤ ❤!!!!

Really? Some people say the sculpture is somewhat creepy :D But thank you for these kind words Alina :) Kisses and hugs to Greece! :)

This is something I've never seen before. We have statutes in my city and the whole country as well but a statue of a person in a sewer is something new to me. Was there any discussion about removing the statue or its supposed to stay there? I mean it definitely is a good tourist attraction !

Thank you for contributing to the Steemit Community.Keep up the great work and I'm looking forward to your next posts.

I think it will stay there forever as it is one of the most popular tourist atractions of the city :) Thanks for stopping by again :)

To je úžasná socha, ale je to fakt děsný šmírák! Teď je chybí, aby mu pod čepec nějaký opravdový šmírák schoval skrytou kameru :D

to teda :D

Tak to se hned tak nevidí ;-)

Neznal jsi ji ani z fotek? Já právě jo, tak to byla jedna z prvních věcí, po kterých jsem se tam pídil :)

Opravdu neznal. Zdá se, že mám malý rozhled ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43