Lunch For Only 50 Cents!

61d97248-065b-4602-a53a-3d9a81c2e237.jpeg


Saigon is awesome because everywhere I look, there is AMAZING street food just begging me to try it. So as not to hurt the food's feelings, I have to give in, of course.

Nobody likes rejection. Not even street food.

To be honest, I'm not sure which of these things I ordered from this nice woman, because I just pointed at stuff and she put it in a to-go container for me to eat. After extensive googling afterwards to find out what I ate (pretty much always the case in Vietnam) I'm pretty sure I had the Mieng Xao.

Guys, if you're ever in Vietnam...please eat this! It's glass noodles, vegetables, bamboo sprouts, herbs and all the good things!!

Plus, bonus, I only paid 10k for my meal, which is about 45-50 cents US.

I honestly have no idea how this woman was profiting, so I ordered 3 of them and ate them all in one sitting. You know, just to help her out.

I promise eating 3 lunches in a row had nothing to do with the fact that my inner fatty occasionally takes over.

Yeah, it was definitely ALL just to help her out. Ahem.

Here she is dishing out round 1. I'm getting excited:

Let's get a closer look:

Yep, definitely going to need 2 more.

You can't see her face, but I know she's smiling!

There's a lil' smile! I knew it!

Pro tip for finding good street food: Look near a university!!!

Vendors are always catering to hungry students.
And also to hungry steemians.

This food is in District 1 of Saigon near the University. And there was TONS more food around, too!
Vietnamese Pizza.
Coffee on a motorike.

There's lots to share with you!

I'll even share one of my 3 lunches if you ask nicely. Confession: We may have to go get one more together, because I kindaaa actually ate them all already. Sorry. Thanks for pretending not to judge my inner fatty!

This is my entry for streetphotography by @juliank


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I'm about to have lunch and I'm hungry and this really opened my appetite. It looks strange but I really want to have a taste. What is that rectangular foodie?

I think it's tofu! Basically just soy. Have you tried that before?

I've never had it. :( Or maybe I did once. I can't remember. I was in Japan for a while so they probably gave me tofu sometime but I don't recall. I remember a little square of something I didn't know, though, it was probably tofu.

We also have that version here in Cebu. It's called "pungko-pungko."

Ooo awesome! I want to eat that!

You should give it a try! It's basically fried foods though not as healthy as the ones there.

Girl your sense of humor kills me😂 I so thought you were gonna say "So as not to hurt the woman's feelings" but then you came out with the foods feelings and I just laughed.

How is she selling street food for only 10 cents?? That blows my my mind. Is that value a lot to them?

Haha I used to legit think inanimate objects had feelings (granted, I was like 6 years old, but still). I remember one time I was in the bathroom and I accidentally slammed the toilet seat down real hard and I yelled "sorry!" kind of loudly to the toilet.

Apparently, my brother just HAPPENED to be walking by the bathroom at the same time I did that because he yelled through the door "Did you REALLY just say sorry to a toilet?!"

Haha so all that to say, yeah, I went there with the food's feelings lol.

Lol thanks, I always love your comments! She was selling for 50, the 10 on the sign is 10k Vietnamese Dong. 22k is 1 USD so it's slightly under 50. I have no idea how she's profiting!

I mean stuff is cheap there, but still!

The best meal we had in Bali was a booth on the side of the road, it appears in the middle of nowhere, it was delicious and it costed us about $2.50 for 2 people for a super local meal!

omg, I want to where and what this is! lol some of my best food has been like that too! My best meal in Bali so far was what appears to be a craphole in Denpasar lol

ahaha! so true, we were riding our scooter on the road from Pemuteran to Lovina beach, about half way through we stopped and on the side of this road there was that small hut where they were BBQ some stuff. I found a photo - I have no idea really what the dish was called but was some sort of BBQ chicken
IMGP4989.JPG
And the hut looked like this:
IMGP4982.JPG

Hahahahah, I will end up buying more if I'm to be the one buying this good looking and nutritious food, so I'm not judging you for buying 3...lol

The only issue I have with you is that you finished it without remembering a fellow steemian for that matter.

hahaha I promise to share next time!

Smile, alright dear, thanks in advance....

You don't want to hurt the food's feeling so you caved in and now you hurt my feelings knowing you ate for two and deprived me of this amazing treat.

I missed you beautiful. We need our own tour, you know?

haha next time we share! I was thinking about you yesterday!

Wow! I came right on time. This love is unbreakable, not even by distance. Thanks my adorable darling. How have you been?

Imagine the world if all of the people were as kind hearted and generous as a nomadic soul... this is why doggos are the best people, they're always looking out for any of the foods, street or otherwise.

You're so super right about universities being the veritable goldmine of quality cheap eats.

P.S) Does the coffee on a motorcycle transport you while you're drinking? Cos that is one hell of a deal.

@aussieninja I don't kow if I'm talented enough to drink and drive! haha

This makes me want to take an early lunch!

Hahahahaha, probably you should go for one if it would not break the rules of breakfast before lunch....

You can have lunch whenever!

Smile, sure. I'm just pulling his leg.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-22T15:21:54
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 343.81/400.00
Total Photos: 40
Total comments: 72
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95