Little Traffic, Few People, but Much to Appreciate … Chiang Mai, Thailand – Street Photography

in #streetphotography5 years ago (edited)
This street and the surrounding area harkens back a few decades, to a time when cities were smaller, growth was slower, and city life was a bit laid back. 


[Right-Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

Off the beaten path

This secondary street is just outside of the city center of Chiang Mai. It is lined with a few shops, and is the center of a fair amount of activity. However, this street is not overrun with traffic, most of which is concentrated on Chiang Mai’s bigger streets and thoroughfares. 

The lay of the land, as it’s always been

The gentle curves of the road and the lack of sidewalks indicate that it’s a much older road – possibly a few centuries old. It probably began with the locals following the lay of the land, maybe along a river, or possibly along an easily accessible path through the jungle undergrowth.     
Location – Chiang Mai, on Google Maps

This is my entry in @juliank’s Street Photography contest.
Sort:  

I can relate quite well with this street. There are several streets like this in my neighbourhood. I love the urban analysis you did here. It could pass for a module in an Urban Sociology textbook. Hehehe.

Yes, I see the humor in that statement, cuz I cannot imagine myself writing a textbook on Urban Sociology or Urban Geography. Nevertheless, I'd be pleased if someone else did so, and they can even use this entire post in the book.

In fact, I think I'll change one of the tags to "urban-geography." Thanks!

Wow. Urban Geography is such a nice tag. Glad you got the humour. This is a fine post, it can actually illustrate topics on city life and metropolitan growth. Cheers!

Well said @gandhibaba. He did a great job with the description... great photo too!
Regards always, Toni

Thanks for the appreciation. They say a photo is worth a thousand words, so I like to add a few hundred REAL words, just to clarify the "photographic" words.

Dear @majes.tytyty

I love CM. One of my favourite places I've ever been to :)

Yours
Piotr

Yes, for a city, and especially for a city in SE Asia, it's a mighty fine place to live.

You got a 30.00% upvote from @booster courtesy of @majes.tytyty!

NEW FEATURE:

You can earn a passive income from our service by delegating your stake in SteemPower to @booster. We'll be sharing 100% Liquid tokens automatically between all our delegators every time a wallet has accumulated 1K STEEM or SBD.
Quick Delegation: 1000| 2500 | 5000 | 10000 | 20000 | 50000

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99