Our Fair LadysteemCreated with Sketch.

I have never been a religious person.

Religion has always been an enigma to me, shrouded in the mystique of mythical creation stories and ancient creeds of conduct. I never had much a religious background and my early acceptance of science and Darwinism (only certain components) seemed to discredit the likelihood of Adam and Eve.

My mother was catholic. My father was well, "Protestant" technically, but never really religious. Nevertheless, I was still baptized as a Protestant. Having never once been to church, my status as follower of the Protestant faith was short-lived.

I did go to a bible camp once when I was 7 or 8 years old. My parents, god bless them, worked long hours to make sure my brother and I never went without. When our neighbors offered to take me with their kids to a bible camp they were attending, my mother accepted the offer. I think her reason for accepting the offer was two fold. I think she first saw it as an opportunity for me to get out of the house and while being supervised for a couple hours but upon further consideration probably saw it as a way to warm me up to the idea of religion. After the conclusion of camp that week I asked my mom to never send me to one of those again.

IMG_3816.jpg

I want to note that this post is no way meant to trivialize religion or denounce those who are faithful to a certain set of beliefs. Rather, this post was meant as a reflection on my own beliefs. Although I do not necessarily believe in God as a figure head per se, I do believe that there is a greater being out there. There is no doubt in my mind that there exists an omnipresent spirit with the capacity to maintain a certain set of checks and balances. I am a huge believer in karma.

IMG_3812.jpg

What goes around comes around...

Sort:  

As a Christian who leans more Quaker than anything else, I find the ritualism and ostentatious church buildings of most deniminations a bit repugnant. After that, it is the "holier than thou" attitude. I have heard it said that the biggest problems with Christianity is the Christians.

@jacobtothe Having traveled a decent amount, I have been able to see many temples and churches of different denominations around the world, and I must say, to your point, there is a consistent theme of opulence and hedonism throughout. These religious building do often make for a great picture though.

To your second point of the "holier than thou" attitude, I think it inevitably results from human nature. We instinctually either fear or discredit things that we do not understand. If this is what I believe in, then it must be the best and only thing to believe in, right?

All one need do is look to partisan politics where people condemn others as the embodiment of evil over purely secular disagreements, or the numerous variants of, "You were born on the other side of that national border, so you are less worthy of respect as an individual, and probably a criminal to boot!"

Love the honesty in these thoughts. It's amazing what feelings a certain place can evoke. I think something like this brings about a special sensation for everyone, whether we identify religiously or not.

Thank you @thatkidsblack. I agree -- I could definitely feel a certain aura at this location. What we call to depends from person to person, but I believe we all call to something in some way or another.

Congratulations @juicyfruit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts. Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39