Street Photography -


If you've read my Blog post Street Photography - Love It or Hate It? you'll already be aware of my passion for the genre. So you'll understand that it's excruciatingly difficult yet incredibly inspiring to go through and choose just one image from my extensive catalogue! I made my top criteria picking out something I've never shown publicly before, just because... well, just because, honestly!

In the end, I've chosen an image of a street performer in Reading city centre, for various reasons - because it's a great photo, full of interest and story; because he's a street performer in a public place, so him being pissed off at me is highly unlikely; because as a sometime street performer myself I admire his guts and tenacity, and I love that we still have a few street performers left despite our f*ckwit government doing its level best to wipe them out; because he just looks like a right character... and, being an eccentric Brit myself, I do just love me a right character; and ultimately, because I just fricking love everything about this shot!

I hope you'll enjoy this photo -

reading-street-pianist.jpg


'Reading Street Pianist' by Jay Taylor

This shot was taken on a Panasonic Lumix DMC-G3, using a Panasonic Lumix G Vario 45-200mm lens which I love for candid street photography. The image was shot in RAW format and then developed by hand in Adobe Lightroom.

Good luck to all the entrants in this week's Street Photography contest - fingers crossed that this old chap tickles the judge's ivories!

With love,

Jay x

jay-guitar.jpg
Me and my Takamine, c. 1997

CategoryStreet Photography
Settings91mm - ISO 400 - f4.6 - 1/200 sec
CameraPanasonic Lumix DMC-G3, Panasonic Lumix Vario G 45-200mm Lens
LocationReading City Centre, Berkshire, England, UK

Take a challenge a day with @juliank:

Monday: #foodphotography and #animalphotography
Tuesday: landscapephotography and cityscapephotography
Wednesday: #architecturalphotography and #vehiclephotography
Thursday: #macrophotography and #colourfulphotography
Friday: #streetphotography and #portraitphotography
Saturday: #sportsphotography and #smartphonephotography
Sunday: #goldenhourphotography and #longexposurephotography

Sort:  

Love everything about it too Jay. His focus, down to his bright red socks/shoes/cushion? His popup gloves and maybe popdown hat. 🦋

Thank you, Ally - it's wonderful that we still have a few real characters and eccentrics here in the UK. they seem to be a dying breed, but they feel like a national treasure to me! xx

P.S The red things were very padded shoes of some sort... I've never seen anything like them before!

Nice one jay.. Here is a photo of my street in Nigeria. Hope you like it.

Thank you! It looks very different than Reading! I'm glad I don't live in a city, though - I only visit them very rarely. My village in Derbyshire only HAS one street! :o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45