You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Overcoming My Street Photography Fears!

I love street photography. Particularly black and white to give it atmosphere. It can be intimidating as you don't want to get yelled at.

I remember years ago we had a meet up of photographers in Melbourne and we went around as a group taking photos in the CBD. One of us got told off by someone who got in a photo. Depends on the city as I know in London no one gives a shit.

It takes practice to get camera positioned right but shooting from the hip helps to not stand out. I think you posted some "from the hip" recently.

Do you never leave home without your camera?

Sort:  

Location definitely changes people’s reactions. I’m on Newcastle which is a fair bit smaller than Sydney or Melbourne which makes it difficult at times. I just need to keep practicing to get the camera position and the timing right. Also I basically take my camera everywhere (to work, away on weekends) but I don’t always get it out and use it...

I know what you mean not getting it out and using it everyday. Then there will a day that you don't take it and there will be something to photograph. On my Nikon for street photography I use Aperture mode and set it to f/5.6, I found that to be more reliable than using Manual and trying to adjust, looking suspicious hehe
Is there much street art in Newcastle?

Yeah that’s always the case haha. There definitely is some decent street are tucked away in ally’s etc, I’ll have to share some of it some time. Thanks for the tip on the camera settings though, helps to not look suspect haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18