A walk around Chinatown KL

in #streetphotography6 years ago (edited)

I enjoy just wandering around with my camera looking for interesting characters and subjects to shoot. I have only lived in KL a couple of years but I'm always drawn to the area around Pasar Seni and Masjid Jamek because of the variety of things to photograph.

Here are a few shots from around Chinatown from a walk I did the other day. I was actually meeting up with a blogger http://www.bazilpatel.com/ and Instagram sensation to take a few shots for his blog about his travels.

4G2A9286.jpg

But as I was waiting on Bazil I thought I'd go for a wander and take a few street shots. I've see these blind buskers a few times around KL. I think they are interesting characters, so I took a few shots. I did give them a few ringgit for their music too.

4G2A9122.jpg

4G2A9123.jpg

One thing I always look out for when shooting in the street is interesting lighting. Like in this shot of these old guys reading their newspapers down one of the narrow lanes. I like they way the light from behind is creating a rim light effect of the guy on the right. This works really well for black and white photography where tone, light and shade are so important.

4G2A9108.jpg

Similarly in this shot of the old guy selling flowers, the contrasty light really makes the shot for me. Some people say you should shoot early morning or late afternoon when the light is softer, which is generally true. But sometimes shooting in the middle of the day in harsh light can be effective too as it can add a bit of drama.

4G2A9118.jpg

The thing I really love about Chinatown in KL is there are all these narrow back lanes with markets and food stalls. There are always interesting things to see and photograph.

4G2A9129.jpg

4G2A9163.jpg

4G2A9127.jpg

Anyway I hope you enjoyed this little photo share. I have some more at https://gerryfox1.wixsite.com/gerryfox-asia

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-15T13:21:24
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.50/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I like the black and white, keep posting more of your photos, eventually you will get more viewers!!

Thanks for your words of encouragement

Most welcome!
Oh, btw, I'm from Malaysia too, Selangor area. Hehehe

Cool... I'll keep my eye out for your blogs

Cool! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36